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Date of Hearing:  April 27, 2015 

ASSEMBLY COMMITTEE ON BANKING AND FINANCE 
Matthew Dababneh, Chair 

AB 1446 (Dababneh) – As Amended April 20, 2015 

SUBJECT:  California Finance Lenders Law:  violations 

SUMMARY:  Clarifies the authority of the commissioner of the Department of Business 
Oversight (DBO) to issue desist and refrain orders against licensees under the California Finance 
Lenders Law (CFLL).   Specifically, this bill:   

1) Specifies that the commissioner may order a person engaged as a broker, finance lender, or 
mortgage loan originator to desist and refrain from violations of a provision of an order or 
any regulation adopted under the CFLL. 

EXISTING LAW:   

1) “Finance lenders” making loans in California are required to obtain a license from DBO and 
comply with the licensing and regulatory requirements of the CFLL (Financial Code, 
Sections 22000-22780) and the regulations thereunder. A “finance lender” is broadly defined 
in Cal. Fin. Code § 22009 as “any person who is engaged in the business of making 
consumer loans or making commercial loans. 

2) Authorizes a de minimis exemption under the CFLL for persons who make no more than one 
commercial loan in a 12-month period (Financial Code Section 22050). 

3) Prohibits a person subject to the CFLL from doing either of the following: 

a) Making a materially false or misleading statement or representation to a borrower about 
the terms or conditions of that borrower’s loan, when making or brokering the loan 
(Financial Code Section 22161); or, 

b) Advertising, printing, displaying, publishing, distributing, broadcasting, or causing or 
permitting to be advertised, printed, displayed, published, distributed, or broadcast in any 
manner, any statement or representation that is false, misleading, or deceptive, or that 
omits material information, as specified (Section 22161). 

4) Provides that any person who willfully violates any provisions of the CFLL, or who willfully 
violates any rule or order adopted pursuant to the CFLL, is liable for a civil penalty not to 
exceed two thousand five hundred dollars ($2,500) for each violation, which must be 
assessed and recovered in a civil action brought in the name of the people of the State of 
California by the commissioner in any court of competent jurisdiction (Section 22173). 

5) Provides that whenever, in the opinion of the commissioner, any person is engaged in the 
business as a broker or finance lender, or a mortgage loan originator, without a license from 
the commissioner, or any licensee is violating any provision of the CFLL, the commissioner 
may order that person or licensee to desist and to refrain from engaging in the business or 
further violating the CFLL. If a written request for a hearing is filed by the recipient of an 
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order within 30 days after the order is served, and no hearing is held within 30 days 
thereafter, the order is rescinded (Section 22712). 

FISCAL EFFECT:  Unknown 

COMMENTS:   

AB 1446 is a technical bill designed to clarify DBO’s authority that rules and regulations 
promulgated under the CFLL are enforceable against licensees engaged in real estate 
transactions. 

REGISTERED SUPPORT / OPPOSITION: 

Support 

None on file.  

Opposition 

None on file. 

Analysis Prepared by: Mark Farouk / B. & F. / (916) 319-3081 
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