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Date of Hearing:  January 11, 2016 

ASSEMBLY COMMITTEE ON BANKING AND FINANCE 
Matthew Dababneh, Chair 

AB 268 (Dababneh) – As Amended January 4, 2016 

SUBJECT:  California Finance Lenders Law:  violations 

SUMMARY:  Requires the Commissioner of the Department of Business Oversight (DBO) to 
examine every person engaged in the business of a finance lender or broker for compliance with 
the California Finance Lenders Law (CFLL) at least every 48 months, or as often as the 
commissioner deems necessary and appropriate. 

EXISTING LAW:   

1) Provides for the CFLL, administered by DBO, which authorizes the licensure of finance lenders, 
who may make secured and unsecured consumer and commercial loans (Financial Code Sections 
22000 et seq.).  The following are the key rules applied to consumer loans made pursuant to the 
CFLL:   
 
a) CFLL licensees who make consumer loans under $2,500 are capped at interest rates which 

range from 12% to 30% per year, depending on the unpaid balance of the loan (Sections 22303 
and 22304).  Administrative fees are capped at the lesser of 5% of the principal amount of the 
loan or $50 (Section 22305).   
 

b) In addition to the requirements in “a” above, CFLL licensees who make consumer loans under 
$5,000 are prohibited from imposing compound interest or charges (Section 22309); are limited 
in the amount of delinquency fees they may impose (Section 22320.5; delinquency fees are 
capped at a maximum of $10 on loans 10 days or more delinquent and $15 on loans 15 days or 
more delinquent); are required to prominently display their schedule of charges to borrowers 
(Section 22325); are prohibited from splitting loans with other licensees (Section 22327); are 
prohibited from requiring real property collateral (Section 22330), and are limited to a 
maximum loan term of 60 months plus 15 days (Section 22334). 
 

c) In addition to the requirements in “a” and “b” above, CFLL licensees who make consumer loans 
under $10,000 are limited in their ability to conduct other business activities on the premises 
where they make loans (Section 22154); must require loan payments to be paid in equal, 
periodic installments (Section 22307); and must meet certain standards before they may sell 
various types of insurance to the borrower (Sections 22313 and 22314). 
 

d) Generally speaking, the terms of loans of $10,000 or above are not restricted under the CFLL. 
 

2) Until January 1, 2018, provides for the Pilot Program for Increased Access to Responsible Small 
Dollar Loans within the CFLL (Financial Code Section 22365 et seq.).  Licensees accepted into the 
pilot program are required to follow the CFLL, but are allowed to charge slightly higher interest 
rates, origination fees, and late fees to borrowers than is allowed under the CFLL, as long as they 
adhere to specified underwriting criteria, offer DBO-approved credit education to their borrowers, 
report borrower payment history to at least one major credit bureau, provide specified disclosures to 
borrowers, and follow other rules intended to protect consumers.   
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Loans made under the pilot program must have principal amounts of between $300 and $2,500.  
Interest rates are capped at 36% on principal amounts up to $1,000 and at 32% on principal 
amounts between $1,001 and $2,499.  Origination fees are capped at the lesser of 7% or $90 on the 
first loan to a borrower; lesser of 6% or $75 on the second and subsequent loans to a borrower.  
Late fees are capped at $14 for payments that are at least seven days late or at $20 for payments that 
are at least fourteen days late (lenders must choose between these two options).  Actual insufficient 
funds fees may also be charged.  Minimum loan lengths are 90 days for loans with principal 
amounts less than $500, 120 days for loans with principal amounts between $500 and $1,499, and 
180 days for loans between $1,500 and $2,500 
 

3) Allows the commissioner, for purposes of discovering of violations of the CFLL to investigate the 
loans and business of the licensee and examine the books, accounts, records and files used in the 
business. 

 

FISCAL EFFECT:  Unknown 

COMMENTS:   

AB 268 is the first step in the author's push to reform the CFLL by bringing the CFLL in line 
with other laws administered by DBO.  AB 268 establishes a minimum time frame of at least 
once every 48 months in which CFLL licensees must be examined by the commissioner and 
clarifies that the commissioner may examine licensees at any time if necessary.  This is identical 
authority for the commissioner that is in the Residential Mortgage Lending Act, Financial Code 
Section 50302. 

This bill is a vehicle for additional reforms that result from stakeholder meetings that started 
early last year.  Last year, the author brought together varied stakeholder groups to discuss 
revisions to the CFLL.  Several large stakeholder meetings occurred that included discussions on 
the existing consumer loan market in California and potential recommendations for changes to 
the CFLL that would bring transparency and fairness to the consumer loan market in California.   
The Consumer Financial Protection Bureau released a framework to regulation short-term loan 
products nationwide that will significantly alter California's lending statutes.  The final rules on 
these loan products are set to be released in stages.  According to the latest information available, 
the first round of rules covering payday loans and deposit advance products are set to be released 
sometime during February of 2016.  The rules for installment loans and vehicle title loans are set 
for release September of 2016.   

REGISTERED SUPPORT / OPPOSITION: 

Support 

None on file. 

Opposition 

None on file. 

Analysis Prepared by: Mark Farouk / B. & F. / (916) 319-3081 


