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Date of Hearing: April 29, 2013

ASSEMBLY COMMITTEE ON BANKING AND FINANCE
Roger Dickinson, Chair
AB 1091 (Skinner) — As Amended: April 18, 2013

SUBJECT: Finance and mortgage lenders.

SUMMARY: Provides that the commissioner of thepBegment of Corporations
(Commissioner) may issue a citation to a licensekeuthe California Finance Lenders Law
(CFLL) or the California Residential Mortgage LemgliAct (CRMLA) under certain
circumstances. Specifically, this bill,

1) Specifies that upon inspection, examination, oestigation, if the commissioner believes
that a licensee under the CFLL or CRMLA has vialateeir licensing law then the
commissioner may issue a citation to the licensgeerson that may contain a desist and
refrain order and the assessment of a $2,500 askmaitive penalty per violation.

2) Provides that a CFLL may not engage in specifiedpres, nor knowingly misrepresent,
circumvent, or conceal, through subterfuge or devany material aspect or information
regarding a transaction to which the licenseepargy.

3) Provides that the CFLL does not apply to a pereahrmhakes no more than five commercial
loans in a 12-month period and that the loansraridéntal to that person'’s business.

4) Clarifies that the CFLL does not apply to indudtdavelopment corporations when acting
under federal law or other state authority, or panekers when acting under authority of
their license.

EXISTING LAW

1) Provides for the regulation of finance lenders unble CFLL. (Financial Code Section
22000et seq).

2) Regulates non-bank residential mortgage lendersnthd CRMLA. (Financial Code,
Section 5000@t seq).

FISCAL EFFECT: Unknown

COMMENTS:

AB 1091 expands the enforcement powers of DOC utide€FLL by:

1) Prohibiting a licensee from conducting businesanunsafe or injurious manner, consistent
with the protection in the CRMLA;

2) Prohibiting a licensee from engaging in any unéaideceptive act or practice, consistent
with the protection in the CRMLA;
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3) Prohibiting a licensee from knowingly misrepresegticircumventing, or concealing,
through subterfuge or device, any material aspertformation regarding a transaction to
which the licensee is a party, consistent withgtaection in the CRMLA.

In 2011 the Legislature passed SB 53 (Calderomp€n 717 Statutes of 2011 that gave the
commissioner of the Department of Real Estate (DiR&)uthority to issue citations and/or
fines to licensees found to have violated provisiohthe Real Estate Law. AB 1091 attempts
to bring the same provisions of the Real Estate irdaovthe CRMLA and the CFLL with the
following:

1) Provides the DOC with the authority to bring adrsirative penalties and desist and refrain
orders through the issuance of a citation, undér tie CRMLA and the CFLL.

2) Allows the DOC to take the citation to superior k@and obtain a judgment, thereby
facilitating collection of penalties, where the p#ies are not paid.

Additionally, AB 1091 provides for an exemptionrndicensure under the CFLL to ensure that
exempt lenders are only exempt for activities #ratoverseen by another regulatory authority.
This exemption would allow businesses that arderaters to make a de minimis number of
commercial loans, such as bridge loans, by inangasie exemption for commercial lending
from 1 loan to 5 loans in a 12 month period so lagaghe loans are incidental to the person's
business.

Amendments.

As already established, this bill seeks to incoagmthe ability of the commissioner to issue
citations similar to the authority given to DREor@mittee staff recommends the adoption of
amendments in order to ensure that the citatiomoaity proposed for use by the commissioner
is consistent with the authority already providedRE. The following are the suggested
amendments:

1) Amend Section 3 as follows,
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(a) If, upon inspection, examination, or investigation, the commissioner has cause to believe
that a person or licensee isviolating or has violated any provision of thisdivision or any rule
or order thereunder, the commissioner or his or her designated representative may issue a
citation to that person or licensee in writing, describing with particularity the basis of the
citation. Each citation may contain an order to correct the violation or violations identified
and a reasonable time period or periods by which the violation or violations must be corrected.
I n addition, each citation may assess an administrative fine not to exceed two thousand five
hundred dollars ($2,500), which shall be deposited into the State Corporations Fund. In
assessing a fine, the commissioner shall give due consideration to the appropriateness of the
amount of the fine with respect to factors such as the gravity of the violation, the good faith of
the person or licensee cited, and the history of previous violations. A citation issued and afine
assessed pursuant to this section, while constituting discipline for a violation of the law, shall
bein lieu of other administrative discipline by the commissioner for the offense or offenses
cited, and the citation against and payment of any fine by a licensee shall not be reported as
disciplinary action taken by the commissioner.

(b) Notwithstanding subdivision (a), nothing in this section shall prevent the commissioner
from issuing an order to desist and refrain from engaging in a specific business activity or
activities or an order to suspend all business operations to a person or licensee who is engaged
in_or has engaged in _continued or repeated violations of this part. In _any of these
circumstances, the sanctions authorized under this section shall be separate from, and in
addition to, all other administrative, civil, or criminal penalties

(c) If, within 30 days from the receipt of the citation, the licensee or person cited fails to notify
the department that he or she intends to request a hearing as described in subdivision (d), the
citation shall be deemed final.

(d) Any hearing under this section shall be conducted in accordance with Chapter 5
(commencing with Section 11500) of Part 1 of Division 3 of Title 2 of the Government Code.

(e) After the exhaustion of the review procedures provided for in this section, the commissioner
may apply to the appropriate superior court for a judgment in the amount of the administrative
penalty and an order compelling the cited licensee or person to comply with the order of the
commissioner. The application, which shall include a certified copy of the final order of the
commissioner, shall constitute a sufficient showing to warrant the issuance of the judgment and
order.

2) Amend Section 5 as follows:
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(a) If, upon inspection, examination, or investigation, the commissioner has cause to believe
that a person or licensee isviolating or has violated any provision of thisdivision or any rule
or order thereunder, the commissioner or his or her designated representative may issue a
citation to that person or licensee in writing, describing with particularity the basis of the
citation. Each citation may contain an order to correct the violation or violations identified
and a reasonable time period or periods by which the violation or violations must be corrected.
I n addition, each citation may assess an administrative fine not to exceed two thousand five
hundred dollars ($2,500), which shall be deposited into the State Corporations Fund. In
assessing a fine, the commissioner shall give due consideration to the appropriateness of the
amount of the fine with respect to factors such as the gravity of the violation, the good faith of
the person or licensee cited, and the history of previous violations. A citation issued and afine
assessed pursuant to this section, while constituting discipline for a violation of the law, shall
bein lieu of other administrative discipline by the commissioner for the offense or offenses
cited, and the citation against and payment of any fine by a licensee shall not be reported as
disciplinary action taken by the commissioner.

(b) Notwithstanding subdivision (a), nothing in this section shall prevent the commissioner
from issuing an order to desist and refrain from engaging in a specific business activity or
activities or an order to suspend all business operations to a person or licensee who is engaged
in _or has engaged in continued or repeated violations of this part. In _any of these
circumstances, the sanctions authorized under this section shall be separate from, and in
addition to, all other administrative, civil, or criminal penalties

(c) If, within 30 days from the receipt of the citation, the person cited fails to notify the
department that the person intends to request a hearing as described in subdivision (d), the
citation shall be deemed final.

(d) Any hearing under this section shall be conducted in accordance with Chapter 5
(commencing with Section 11500) of Part 1 of Division 3 of Title 2 of the Government Code.

(e) After the exhaustion of the review procedures provided for in this section, the commissioner
may apply to the appropriate superior court for a judgment in the amount of the administrative
penalty and an order compelling the cited person to comply with the order of the commissioner.
The application, which shall include a certified copy of the final order of the commissioner, shall
constitute a sufficient showing to warrant the issuance of the judgment and order.

Note regarding Governor's Reorganization Plan @RK #2).

Last year the Legislature passed GRP #2 which amizgs various functions within state
government. Among the numerous changes provid&RR #2 is the creation of the
Department of Business Oversight (DBO) that willdperational on July 1, 2013 and will result
in combining DOC and the Department of Financialitntions. This analysis uses the term
commissioner of DOC as that is the appropriategshesion until July 1, 2013. If this bill
becomes law then commissioner, as referred tasrbill, will become be the commission of
DBO.
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REGISTERED SUPPORT / OPPOSITION:

Support
None on file.
Opposition
None on file.

Analysis Prepared by: Mark Farouk / B. & F. 169 319-3081




