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Date of Hearing:   April 23, 2012 
 

ASSEMBLY COMMITTEE ON BANKING AND FINANCE 
Mike Eng, Chair 

 AB 1980 (Hernandez) – As Amended:  March 29, 2012 
 
SUBJECT:  Loans:  disclosures: financial facts label. 
 
SUMMARY:   Requires, that on or after January 1, 2014 licensees under the California Finance 
Lenders Law (CFLL) and the Deferred Deposit Transaction Law (DDTL) provide a financial 
facts label accompanying every window advertisement, online advertisement, mailer, flier, 
brochure or pamphlet.  Specifically, this bill:   
 
1) Requires that prior to the consummation of a California Finance Lender (CFL) loan or a 

payday loan that the licensee provide the borrower with the financial facts label disclosure. 
 

2) Provides that the financial facts label shall include all of the following information: 
 
a) The amount and the number of payments for the loan; 

 
b) The average amount per payment; 

 
c) A "Percent of Monthly Debt Budget" caption to inform the consumer of how loan 

payments will affect his or her debt budget and cash flow.  Requires that this caption also 
include a disclosure stating, "Percent of Monthly Debt Budget value is based on the loan 
payment divided by the recommended consumer debt-to-income ratio of 15 percent, 
using a $3,000 after-tax monthly income level.  Debt budget will vary according to your 
income level."; 
 

d) A breakdown of the monthly payment indicating how much will be paid towards the 
principal, loan fees, and interest; 
 

e) The annual percentage rate (APR); 
 

f) The interest rate used to calculate the loan payments; 
 

g) Total monthly fees to be paid on the loan; 
 

h) Total monthly payment; and, 
 

i) Late payment amount. 
 

3) Requires the Department of Corporations (DOC) to adopt regulations, by January 1, 2014 to 
set forth the design of the label based upon the design of the federal Food and Drug 
Administration's nutritional facts label. 
 

4) Makes various legislative findings and declarations. 
 

5) Sunsets the requirements to offer the label January 1, 2018. 
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EXISTING LAW  
 
The CFLL applies to lenders who make consumer or commercial loans, whether unsecured or 
secured by real or personal property or both, to consumers for use primarily for personal, family, 
or household purposes.  The CFLL is regulated by the DOC.  The CFLL is in the California 
Financial Code, Division 9, commencing with Section 22000.  The regulations under the CFLL 
are contained in Chapter 3, Title 10 of the California Code of Regulations, commencing with 
Section 1404 (10 C.C.R. §1404, et seq.). 
 
The CFLL was enacted by the California legislature effective on July 1, 1995 and consolidated 
and replaced the Personal Property Brokers Law, the CFLL and the Commercial Finance 
Lenders Law which were previously applicable to personal property brokers, consumer finance 
lenders, and commercial finance lenders.  Even though the CFLL is a relatively recent statute, it 
is based upon previous statutes.  
 
According to the DOC, Finance lenders and brokers, by number of licensees and dollars of loans 
originated, are the largest group of financial service providers regulated by DOC.  A finance 
lenders license provides the licensee with an exemption from the usury provision of the 
California Constitution.   Licensed under the law are individuals, partnerships, associations, 
limited liability companies and corporations.  The law requires applicants to have and maintain a 
minimum net worth of at least $25,000 and to obtain and maintain a $25,000 surety bond.  In 
general, principals of the company may not have a criminal history or a history of non-
compliance with regulatory requirements.  
 
In addition to the lending authority provided by the law, the CFLL provides limited brokering 
authority.   A "broker" is defined in the law as "any person engaged in the business of 
negotiating or performing any act as broker in connection with loans made by a finance lender." 
Brokers licensed under this law may only broker loans to lenders that hold a CFL license.  
 
Several entities are not required to be licensed under the CFLL, including banks and savings and 
loan associations, credit unions, mortgage lenders, licensed check cashers, licensed pawn brokers 
or those licensed under the DDTL.  "Non-loan" transactions, such as bona fide leases automobile 
sales finance contracts and retail installment sales are also not subject to the provisions of the 
CFLL.  
 
If a business makes a one-time loan, then the business can rely on the safe harbor of no more 
than one loan in a 12-month period.  However, where the safe harbor and other exemptions under 
the CFLL do not apply, then the business may need to apply for a license under the CFLL.  
Violating the CFLL can result in penalties of $2,500 for each violation, imprisonment (for not 
more than one year), or both, and willful violations can also be punished by a fine of $10,000 in 
addition to imprisonment (for not more than one year) or both. 
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CFLL licensees constitute a class of “exempt persons” for purposes of California’s constitutional 
usury limitations (Cal. Fin. Code § 22002).   
 
Additionally, DOC licenses and regulates the DDTL, commencing with Financial code Section 
2300.  A Deferred Deposit Transaction (DDT), commonly referred to as payday loan, is a short-
term loan in which a borrower writes a post-dated, personal check to a lender for a specified 
amount, capped at $300.  The date on the check is the date on which the parties agree that the 
borrower will repay the loan.  The lender advances the borrower the amount on the check, less 
the fee, which is also capped by law.  The lender does not cash the check at the time the loan is 
made.  The lender and the borrower are aware that the borrower lacks sufficient funds to cover 
the check at the time the check is written.  The assumption underlying the loan is that the 
borrower will repay the loan by the agreed-upon date, either by depositing sufficient funds in his 
or her checking account to cover the check, or by paying the lender in cash on the loan’s due 
date, and having the lender return the original check to the borrower, without cashing it.   
 
California enacted its earliest version of a payday lending law in 1996, and gave jurisdiction over 
payday lenders to the Department of Justice (DOJ; SB 1959, Calderon, Chapter 682, Statutes of 
1996).  SB 898 (Perata, Chapter 777, Statutes of 2002), enacted the CDDTL; and shifted the 
responsibility for administering payday lending from DOJ to the DOC.   
 
FISCAL EFFECT:  Unknown 
 
COMMENTS:   
 
According to information provided by the author's office this bill is necessary for the following 
reasons: 
 

The Financial Facts Label Act of 2012 would provide clear and transparent consumer 
disclosures on small dollar loans ($2,500 or under).  The Financial Facts label provides 
a consumer-friendly disclosure that both small-dollar lenders and advocates can support. 
Low-income consumers who rely on small-dollar loans to make ends meet need clear and 
transparent disclosures; lenders need consumers who can afford to pay back their loans. 
The Financial Facts label presents key loan terms: the total amount, number and amount 
of monthly payments and fees, annual percentage rate, late payment fee, and total cost. 
With distilled loan information, borrowers can better assess for themselves, at the 
moment of decision, whether they can afford to take out a loan. Likewise, lenders can be 
more assured that borrowers are considering their ability to repay a loan before 
committing. The Financial Facts label presents factual information that provides both 
consumers and lenders with a tool for improving the small-dollar loan landscape in 
California.   

 
This bill sponsored by Mission Asset Fund (MAF), a non-profit organization in San Francisco, is 
the result of an experiment, conducted in 2010, regarding loan disclosure documents.  This 
project involved an analysis of the costs of borrowing $1,000 in San Francisco's Mission District.  
MAF sought this information from 57 different financial entities.  After collecting the 
information, MAF designed a financial facts label and then set about to conduct a test to 
determine the benefit of the label.  In October 2011 seventy four participants were provided with 
original loan documents and the financial facts label information for the same loan products.  
MAF found that only 23% of respondents correctly determined the monthly payment amount 
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from the original loan documents.  In contrast, consumers correctly determined the loan payment 
from the financial facts label 80% of the time.  MAF concluded in their report on the study, Just 
the financial facts, please! A Secret Survey of Financial Services in San Francisco’s Mission 
District, the following: 
 

Our survey illustrated not only the complexity of the marketplace, but also the futility of 
labeling a set of lenders as predatory –or bad lenders– to alert clients to steer clear. We 
realized that the only strategy with a lasting impact is one that increases a borrower’s 
ability to assess lenders and loan products independently.  The Financial Facts labels 
and the Responsible Lending and Borrowing Checklist are designed to aid consumers in 
their quest for affordable and responsible loans. The Financial Facts labels provide 
consumer loan information in a clear, transparent and easy to understand format. The 
Responsible Lending and Borrowing Checklist guides borrowers through a set of 
questions about lenders, loans, and their own financial circumstances in order to assess 
whether they can afford to take out new loans. 

 
It is our hope that this report will ignite a deeper conversation with advocates in the 
asset-building field, bank-on initiatives, and other thought leaders to advocate for a 
standardized, easy-to read and easy-to-access format for disclosing critical information 
on installment loans, transactional products, and other consumer financial products. 

 
Sample Financial Facts Label: 
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Discussion. 
 
The concept of requiring a simplified loan disclosure is not new.  Federal and state regulators, 
consumer organizations and other stakeholders have struggled for years to come up with a 
simplified disclosure regime for lending products.  This bill builds upon those efforts in order to 
create a simplified disclosure document using the Food & Drug Administration (FDA) nutrition 
label as a model.  The intent with this measure is commendable, but it appears to be overly broad 
and may lead to additional confusion.  The following are questions or issues that need to be 
addressed: 
 
1) Will enhanced disclosure benefit borrowers in need of short-term lending products by 

demonstrating the risk associated with that product, and in turn, reduce dependency on that 
product?   
 

2) A licensee under the CFL can engage in various types of lending activity including, 
unsecured personal loans, car-title loans, auto purchase lending, auto refinance and real estate 
loans.  While the stated intent of this bill is to provide the financial facts label for unsecured 
consumer loans under $2,500, the provisions of the bill apply to broad range of activity under 
the CFL.  For example, a CFL engaged in real estate lending activity would be required to 
share the label, as would a CFL engaged in auto lending.  Furthermore, it requires CFL 
licensees to post the label in various forms of advertising using a sample loan amount of 
$1,000.  Considering the broad range of loans that can be made or arranged under the CFL in 
varying amounts, this could lead to further consumer confusion as the advertisement reflects 
a loan amount that may not be the most common. 
 

3) The sponsor contends that the requirement to issue the label only applies to loans equal to, or 
less than $2,500.  However, the way in which the bill is drafted requires the label to be 
disclosed for virtually all CFL loans.  The $2,500 threshold is only for unsecured consumer 
loans, but this exemption conflicts with other sections of the bill that require disclosure of the 
label for all CFL licensees. 
 

4) The inclusion of the label does not alleviate current disclosure requirements.  Currently CFL 
licensees must display a full and accurate schedule of charges in each licensed place of 
business that is subject to approval by the commissioner of DOC, as well as, provide 
borrowers with DOC approved disclosures and disclosures that comply with the federal Truth 
in Lending Act (TILA) requirements. This bill would require the inclusion of two different 
disclosures that could lead to greater consumer confusion.   
 

5) The issue in #4 above also would exist for payday lenders.  The bill requires payday lenders 
to use the label in disclosures to consumers before consummation of the loan and in all 
advertising materials.  The inclusion of these requirements is in addition to current 
requirements that public posting of rates, as well as, consumer disclosure of rates.  Will the 
inclusion of additional disclosures create confusion? 
 

6) The disclosure would require the inclusion a caption regarding how loan payments will affect 
the borrower's debt budget.  This required disclosure uses an average income amount for 
demonstration purposes, but could lead to consumer confusion.  Additionally, it includes a 
statement that the "Percent of Monthly Debt Budget" value is calculated using a 
"recommended debt-to-income ratio level of 15 percent."  Is it appropriate to codify this 
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statement in law regarding appropriate DTI standards?  Would this statement imply that the 
Legislature, DOC or some other arm of state government recommends this threshold? 
 

7) An additional issue for payday lending is that the terms of payday loans are in days not 
months.  Requiring a disclosure concerning monthly payments, when payday loans do not 
have month long terms could create confusion.  Additionally, payday lenders are prohibited 
from charging a late fee, but the label would require disclosure of a fee that doesn’t exist. 
 

8) In addition to establishing the required disclosure that are mandatory in the label, this bill 
gives DOC vague guidance to use the FDA nutritional label as a model to create the financial 
facts label.   However, the FDA nutritional label is governed by detailed and complex federal 
regulations and regulatory guidance dictating the size and specific placement of the label on 
food products.  A sample of the federal regulations on the FDA nutrition label can be found 
at 21 CFR 101.18, 21 CFR 101.29, 21 CFR 101.310, 21 CFR 101.411, 21 CFR 101.912, and 
21 CFR 101.105.  Earlier in this analysis, a sample financial facts label is illustrated.  Based 
on the general guidance in the bill, it is not guaranteed that label envisioned will, in fact, 
become the label created by DOC. 
 

9) Should the sponsor find a lender to partner with to agree to use the label in additional to 
legally required disclosures to provide greater detail on the effectiveness of the label in the 
broader market?  Should the sponsor work with DOC on setting up a pilot program to 
measure the effectiveness of this label.  Prior to establishing a regulatory and statutory 
disclosure framework, it would be helpful to have greater data on the potential impact of such 
a financial facts label.   
 

10) The sponsor's study involving 74 participants provides an indication that this idea is worth 
future exploration.  However, a sample of 74 consumers in a controlled environment is not 
the same as consumers using the label when applying for an actual loan.  Committee staff 
recommends that this idea deserves more study and consideration prior to codifying it into 
statute. 

 
REGISTERED SUPPORT / OPPOSITION:    
 
Support  
 
None on file. 
 
Opposition  
 
California Financial Service Providers' Association 
California Mortgage Bankers Association (CMBA) 
Community Financial Services Association 
 
Analysis Prepared by:    Mark Farouk / B. & F. / (916) 319-3081  


