Comparison of Allowable Interest Rates and Fees for Consumer Loans Under the California Finance Lenders Law and the California Deferred Deposit Transaction Law

California Finance Lenders Law

	Permitted Loans	Term Limitations	Interest Rate	Origination Fee	Delinquency Fee	<u>Dishonored</u>
						Check Fee
Loans under \$2,500	Consumer or commercial secured or unsecured loans, but no real property as collateral for secured loans.	- No minimum number of payments First payment cannot be less than 15 days or more than 45 days from loan date Principal amount of loan less than \$500, maximum term of 24 months and 15 days Principal amount of loan \$500 but less than \$1,500, maximum term of 36 months and 15 days Principal amount of loan \$1,500 but less than \$3,000, maximum term of 48 months and 15 days.	- 2 ½ % per month on unpaid principal balance of any loan up to, including \$225 2% per month on unpaid principal balance in excess of \$225 up to, including \$900 1 ½ % per month on unpaid principal balance in excess of \$900 up to, including \$1,650 1 % per month on any remainder of unpaid balance in excess \$1,650 No interest or fees permitted unless loan is made.	5 % of the principal amount or \$50, whichever is less.	- Maximum of \$10 if not less than 10 days in default, or - Maximum of \$15 if not less than 15 days in default Only one delinquency fee per default payment.	\$15 maximum
Loans from \$2,500 to under \$5,000	Consumer or commercial secured or unsecured loans, but no real property as collateral for secured loans.	- No minimum number of payments. - First payment cannot be less than 15 days or more than 45 days from loan date. Principal amount of loan \$3,000 but less	No interest rate cap	- Maximum of \$75 on loans greater than \$2,500.	- Maximum of \$10 if not less than 10 days in default, or - Maximum of \$15 if not less than 15 days in default Only one delinquency fee per default payment.	\$15 maximum

Loans from \$5,000 to under \$10,000	Consumer or commercial loans (unsecured, secured by personal property or secured by real property as collateral.)	than \$5,000, maximum term of 60 months and 15 days. - No minimum number of payments First payment cannot be less than 15 days or more than 45 days from loan dateNo limitation on number of payments.	No interest rate cap	No limitations	No limitations	\$15 maximum
Loans above \$10,000	Consumer or commercial loans (unsecured, secured by personal property or secured by real property as collateral.)	No limitations	No interest rate cap	No limitations	No limitations	\$15 maximum

Affordable Credit-Building Opportunities Program

	Permitted Loans	Term Limitations	Interest Rate	Origination Fee	Delinquency Fee	Dishonored
						Check Fee
Affordable	Unsecured loans	- First payment	- 2 ½ % per month	5 % of the principal	- Maximum of \$12 if	\$15 maximum.
Credit-	from \$250 to under	cannot be less than	on unpaid principal	loan amount or \$65	not less than 7 days	
Building	\$2,500.	15 days or more than	balance of the loan	whichever is less,	in default, or	
J		45 days from loan	up to and including,	and only one	- Maximum of \$18 if	
Opportunities		date.	\$1,000.	origination fee in	not less than 14 days	
Program		- Not less than 90	- 2 1/6 % per month	any six-month	in default	
8		days for loans less	on the portion of	period, and only one	- Only one	
		than \$500.	unpaid principal	origination fee per	delinquency fee per	
		- Not less than 120	balance of the loan	loan.	delinquent payment	
		days for loans at	in excess of \$1,000.		and no more than 2	
		least \$500, but less	-Rates on subsequent		delinquency fees in	
		than \$1,500.	loans may be		30-consecutive day	
		- Not less than 180	required to be made		period.	
		days for loans at	at reduced rates		- Limitations on	
		least \$1,500.	under certain		delinquency fees for	

	circumstances.	a borrower who is	
		180 days or more	
		past due.	

California Deferred Deposit Transaction Law

	Permitted Loans	Term Limitations	Interest Rate	Origination Fee	Delinquency Fee	Dishonored
						Check Fee
Payday Loans	Unsecured loans	Maximum term of	A fee of 15 percent	NA	None	One-time \$15 fee
	up to \$300.	up to 31 days, but	of the face amount			for a dishonored
		no statutory	of the check. Face			check.
		minimum term	amount cannot			
		(lenders typically	exceed \$300.			
		make loans for a				
		two-week term).				