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Date of Hearing: June 22, 2015

ASSEMBLY COMMITTEE ON BANKING AND FINANCE
Matthew Dababneh, Chair
SB 285 (Block) — As Amended June 4, 2015

SENATE VOTE: 39-0
SUBJECT: Pawnbrokers: compensation: loans.

SUMMARY: Increases the maximum rates and fees that maldrged by California
pawnbrokers and allows pawnbrokers to substit@etinic notices for mailed notices, as specified.
Specifically,this bill:

1) Allows for the following changes to rates and febkarged by pawnbrokers:

a) Increase certain amounts that may be charged dtnéfirst three months of any loan less
than $2,500 by consolidating the existing 21 loeatkets into 6 and setting new maximum
charges within those brackets;

b) Increase from 2.5 percent to 3 percent the maximmamthly rate of compensation that may
be charged for the fourth and subsequent montliseoanpaid principal balance of any loan;

c) Increase from 2 percent to 3 percent the allowtae setup fee for each loan, and increase
from $10 to $30 the maximum allowable loan setuy &nd

d) Increase the amount that may be charged for thelingrand storage of pawned articles.

2) Authorizes a pawnbroker to deliver, at the solearpof the pledgor, specified notices via
electronic mail.

EXISTING LAW:

1) Defines “pawnbroker” as every person engaged ibtlness of receiving goods, including
motor vehicles, in pledge as security for a loffin. Code Sec. 21000.)

2) Requires every loan made by a pawnbroker to beeaeit by a written contract that provides
for a four-month loan period, as specified. Ifiedged article is not redeemed during the four-
month period, and there is not a written agreerteeaktend the loan period, the pawnbroker
must notify the borrower at his or her last knowldr@ss within 30 days after expiration of the
loan period and provide a 10 day extension to medibe pledged property, as specified.
Existing law provides that if the pawnbroker fdibsnotify the borrower within 30 days after the
expiration of the loan period, the pawnbroker shatlcharge interest from the day after the
expiration of the one month period. (Fin. Code.24201.)

3) Permits a pawnbroker to charge fees pursuant éb schedule of charges that are based upon the
amount of the loan, including a charge not excegdime dollar per month for any loan that does
not exceed $14.99. (Fin. Code Sec. 21200.5.)tiBgitaw provides that charges for the first 90
days of a loan shall be determined by that schenfutbarges. Charges for any period of time
following the first 90 days of the loan shall nateed the lesser of $3 per month or 2.5 percent
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of the unpaid principal balance. (Fin. Code S2t200, 21201.4.)

Provides that a loan setup fee not to exceed #parcent, whichever is greater, may be
charged for each loan. However, the maximum |@dnpsfee shall not exceed $10. (Fin. Code
Sec. 21200.1)

Provides that, in addition to other allowed chargeshe time property is redeemed a
pawnbroker may collect a handling and storage ehmgpawned articles pursuant to a set
schedule of charges based on the volume of thegrhwtem, including a charge of $5 for any
article that cannot be contained within one cubdat.f Existing law prohibits the collection of a
storage charge for any article that can be cordawithin one cubic foot. (Fin. Code Sec.
21200.6)

FISCAL EFFECT: Unknown

COMMENTS:

The author writes:

SB 285 would increase the rates and fees that California pawnbrokers may charge their
customers, helping sustain the long-term viability of the pawn industry in California.
California’s pawn lending rates and fees are set by statute and have periodically been increased
over the years to keep up with the cost of doing business. The last increase occurred in 2011 (AB
424, Eng, Chapter 318, Statutes of 2011).

According to [the California Pawnbroker’s Association,] CAPA, California’s interest rate and fee
caps on pawn loans of up to $2,500 are among the lowest in the country. California currently
ranks 48th out of 51, when our allowable pawnbroker compensation is compared to the other
states and the District of Columbia. Many of California’s pawnbrokers - particularly our
smallest ones — are struggling to remain in business in a state whose cost of living and cost of
doing business is among the highest in the country.

CAPA, sponsor of this bill, counts approximately half of California’s licensed pawnbrokers
among its membership. In 2014 alone, thirteen of CAPA’s members shut their doors, unable to
make ends meet. Without an increase in allowable compensation, CAPA asserts that
California’s pawn industry will not survive.

According to national figures provided by CAPA, about 80 [percent] of pawn customers are
repeat customers. Repayment rates nationally are in the 70 [percent] to 80 [percent] range, with
California trending toward the upper level of that range.

SB 285 is the latest in a series of bills sponsbse@APA that seeks to increase the fees and
charges associated with pawn transactions dusitmrbusiness costs and other economic impacts.
Even with the increases in SB 285 California pasangaction rates would still remain among the
cheapest among all 50 states. Unlike other forihssnall dollar lending a pawnbroker must have
sufficient liquidity to fund the loan but also mstore the property for the term of the loan.

SB 285 institutes the following key changes:
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1) Increases from 2.5 percent to 3 percent the maximamthly rate of compensation that may be
charged for the fourth and subsequent months oartpaid principal balance of any loan.
Increases from 2 percent to 3 percent the allowalale setup fee for each loan, and increase
from $10 to $30 the maximum allowable loan setup fe

2) Permits the collection of a $1 handling and stor@dwgrge for any article that can be contained
within one cubic foot, and would authorize the ecdlion of handling and storage charges at the
time a loan is issued instead of when the propsntgdeemed.

3) Allows a pawnbroker to notify the pledgor at hisher last known electronic address of the
termination of the loan period at the sole optibthe pledgor by a means for which verification
of electronic transmission of the notification danprovided by the pawnbroker.

Specifically this bill would revise and consoliddite current loan charges by reducing from 21
brackets to 6 brackets the schedule of chargewalaker may charge for the first 90 days of the
loan. The new 6-tier rate structure would be tiilWwing:

Maximum Charge for| Size of Loan
First Three Months

$3 <$20

$6 $20-$49.99

$9 $50 to $74.99
$12 $75 to $99.99
$15 $100 to $174.99

9% of principal
amount

If SB 285 becomes law the following demonstratesrtéw loan charges on a pawn transaction,
assuming a $1 storage fee:

Cost to Borrower at Eng
of Four-Month Loan Annual Percentage

Amount Borrowed Period* Rate
$100 $24.00 72.00
$250 $38.50 46.20
$500 $76.00 45.60

$1000 $151.00 45.30
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$1500 $226.00 45.20
$2000 $301.00 45.15
$2499 $330.88 39.72

*Assumes a storage fee of $1.

Prior Legislation:

AB 424 (Eng, Chapter 318, Statutes of 2011) autlkedrpawnbrokers to charge borrowers the
greater of three dollars per month or 2.5 percennponth on the unpaid principal balance of loans
below $2,500 that are greater than three months Dhas bill also defined a month for purposes of
the laws governing pawnbrokers as a period of toresisting of 30 consecutive days.

SB 217 (Vargas, Chapter 444, Statutes of 2011) dvbaVe authorized pawnbrokers to charge
borrowers the greater of three dollars per month.Bpercent per month on the unpaid principal
balance of loans below $2,500 that are greaterttit@e months old. This bill was gutted and
amended to address a different subject.

SB 212 (DeLeon, 2011) would have clarified thewnstances under which replacement pawn
loans could be taken out by individuals who areblm#o undertake these transactions in person.
This bill died in the Senate Banking & Financiastitutions Committee.

AB 1357 (Coto, 2009) would have increased the marinfee a pawnbroker may charge or receive
on the entire unpaid principal balance of loang &gedays to 2.5 percent per month. This bill was
vetoed by Governor Schwarzenegger.

SB 580 (Calderon, Chapter 340, Statutes of 2088)eased the allowable loan set-up fee from $3 to
$5 and increased the minimum monthly charge frorto$3.

AB 264 (Mendoza, 2007), as introduced, would haxoedased the maximum rate that may be
charged on loans over 90 days by instituting aXl&tpercent a month interest rate, and increased
the loan setup fee to a maximum of $50, as specifiene bill was gutted and amended after being
held in the Senate Judiciary Committee.

AB 1297 (Papan, Chapter 505, Statutes of 2001)eased the maximum loan setup fee on loans of
up to $50 from $2 to $3; increased allowable hangpéind storage fees from $3, $9, and $18, to $5,
$10, and $20, depending on the size of the obgect;increased the maximum allowable fee for
costs relating to sending a loan expiration ndtiom $2 to $3

Support

California Pawnbrokers Association (Sponsor)
Opposition

None on file.

Analysis Prepared by: Mark Farouk / B. & F. / (916) 319-3081



