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Date of Hearing:   May 7, 2013 
 

ASSEMBLY COMMITTEE ON BANKING AND FINANCE 
Roger Dickinson, Chair 

 SB 318 (Hill, Steinberg, and Correa) – As Amended:  June 17, 2013 
 
SENATE VOTE:   36-1 
 
SUBJECT:   Consumer loans: Pilot Program for Increased Access to Responsible Small Dollar 
Loans. 
 
SUMMARY:   Establishes, until January 1, 2018 the Pilot Program for Increased Access to 
Responsible Small dollar Loans (program) under the California Finance Lenders Law (CFLL).   
Specifically, this bill:    
 
1) Provides that an existing California Finance Lender (CFL) licensee in good standing that 

wishes to participate in the program shall file an application with the Department of Business 
Oversight (DBO) in a manner prescribed by the Deputy Commissioner and shall pay a fee.  
Additionally provides that an entity that is not licensed under the CFLL may file a duel 
application. 
 

2) Specifies that loans made pursuant to the program shall comply with the following: 
 
a) Interest on the loan shall accrue on a simple-interest basis; 

 
b) The licensee shall disclose to the consumer in type face no smaller than 12-point font, at 

time of application for the loan the following: 
 
i) Amount borrowed; 

 
ii)  Total dollar cost of the loan to the consumer if loan is paid back on time, including 

sum of the administrative fee, principal amount borrowed, and interest payments. 
 

iii)  Corresponding annual percentage rate (APR); 
 

iv) Periodic payment amount; 
 

v) Delinquency fee schedule;  
 

vi) A statement of the following, "Repaying you loan early will lower your borrowing 
costs by reducing the amount of interest you will pay.  This loan has no prepayment 
penalty." And, 
 

vii)  A statement that the borrower may rescind the loan within one business day following 
the day the loan is consummated and by returning any loan principal advanced. 
 

viii)  This disclosure may be provided via a mobile phone application if the font size can 
be manually modified by the borrower, and if the borrower is give the option to print 
the disclosure in a type face of least 12-point size or is provided a hardcopy by the 
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licensee. 
 

c) The loan shall have a minimum principal amount upon origination of $300 and a term of 
not less than the following: 
 
i) Ninety days for loans whose principal balance upon origination is less than $500 

 
ii)  One hundred twenty days for loans whose principal balance upon origination is at 

least $500, but is less than $1,500. 
 

iii)  One hundred eighty days for loans whose principal balance upon origination is at 
least $1,500. 
 

3) Allows the following interest rates and charges: 
 
a) For a loan made pursuant to this section at an annual simple interest rate not to exceed the 

lesser of 36.0 percent or the following: 
 
i) 32.75 percent plus the United States prime lending rate, as of the date of loan 

origination, on that portion of the unpaid principal balance of the loan up to and 
including, but not in excess of, one thousand dollars ($1,000). The interest rate 
calculated as of the date of loan origination shall be fixed for the life of the loan. 
 

ii)  28.75 percent plus the United States prime lending rate, as of the date of loan 
origination, on that portion of the unpaid principal balance of the loan in excess of 
one thousand dollars ($1,000), but less than two thousand five hundred dollars 
($2,500). The interest rate calculated as of the date of loan origination shall be fixed 
for the life of the loan. 
 

b) The licensee may contract for and receive an administrative fee of the following: 
 
i) Seven percent of the principal amount, exclusive of the administrative fee, or ninety 

dollars ($90), whichever is less, on the first loan made to a borrower. 
 

ii)  Six percent of the principal amount, exclusive of the administrative fee, or eighty 
dollars ($80), whichever is less, on the second and subsequent loans made to a 
borrower. 
 

4) Prohibits a licensee from charging the same borrower an administrative fee more than once in 
any four-month period.   
 

5) Provides that an administrative fee shall not be contracted for or received in connection with 
the financing of a loan unless at least eight months have elapsed since the receipt of a 
previous administrative fee paid by the borrower. 
 

6) Allows a licensee to require a borrower to reimburse the licensee from actual insufficient 
funds fees incurred by that licensee due to actions of the borrower, as well as, receive a 
delinquency fee in the following amounts: 
 



SB 318 
Page  3 
 

a) For a period of delinquency of not less than seven days, an amount not in excess of $14; 
or, 
 

b) For a period of  delinquency of not less than fourteen days, an amount not in excess of 
$20. 
 

7) Specifies that no more than one delinquency fee may be imposed per delinquent payment or 
no more than two delinquency fees may be imposed during any period of 30 consecutive 
days. 
 

8) Prohibits the imposition of a delinquency fee that is 180 days or more past due if that fee 
would result in the sum of the borrower's remaining unpaid principal balance, accrued 
interest, and delinquency fees exceeding 180 percent of the original principle amount of the 
borrower's loan. 
 

9) Requires a licensee to attempt to collect a delinquent payment for a period of at least 30 days 
before selling or assigning that unpaid debt to an independent party for collection. 
 

10) Specifies that prior to disbursement of loan proceeds, the licensee shall either: 
 
a) Offer a credit education program or seminar to the borrower that has been previously 

approved by DBO; or 
 

b) Invite the borrower to a credit education program or seminar offered by an independent 
third party that has been previously reviewed and approved by DBO. 
 

11) Requires that a licensee must report each borrower's payment performance to at least one 
consumer reporting agency (CRA) upon acceptance as a data furnisher by the CRA. 
 

12) Provides that a licensee that is accepted as a data furnisher after admittance to the program 
must report all borrower payment performance since its inception of lending under the 
program, but no longer than six months after acceptance into the program. 
 

13) Allows the Deputy Commissioner to approve a licensee for the program, prior to that 
licensee's acceptance as a data furnisher by a CRA if the Deputy Commissioner has a 
reasonable expectation, based on information supplied by the licensee, that: 
 
a) The licensee will be accepted once it achieves lending volume required of data furnishers 

of its type; and 
 

b) That lending volume will be achieved within the first six months of the licensee 
commencing lending. 
 

14)   Provides the Deputy Commissioner with authority to withdraw participation from the pilot 
program to a licensee that fails to become a data furnisher within the first six months of 
program participation. 
 

15) Specifies that a  licensee shall provide each borrower with the name of the CRA or agencies 
to which it will report the borrower’s payment history. 
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16) Mandates that each loan shall be underwritten to determine a borrower’s ability and 
willingness to repay the loan pursuant to the loan terms, and shall not make a loan if it 
determines, through its underwriting, that the borrower’s total monthly debt service 
payments, at the time of origination, including the loan for which the borrower is being 
considered, and across all outstanding forms of credit that can be independently verified by 
the licensee, exceed 50 percent of the borrower’s gross monthly income. 
 

17) Requires the licensee, in conducting underwriting, to seek information and documentation, 
verified through at least one CRA or other available electronic debt verification service, 
pertaining to all of a borrower’s outstanding debt obligations, including loans that are self-
reported by the borrower but not available through independent verification.  
 

18) Requires the licensee to request from the borrower and include all information obtained from 
the borrower regarding outstanding deferred deposit transactions in the calculation of the 
borrower’s outstanding debt obligations.  A licensee shall not be required to consider, for 
purposes of debt-to-income ratio evaluation, loans from friends or family. 
 

19) Provides that no licensee shall require, as condition of providing the loan, that the borrower 
waive any right, penalty, remedy, forum, or procedure provided for in any law applicable to 
the loan. 
 

20) States that the provisions of the program do not apply to any loan with a bonafide principle 
amount of $2,500. 
 

21) Prohibits:  
 
a) any person, in connection with the making of a loan, from offering, selling, or requiring 

“credit insurance”;  
 

b) a licensee from requiring, as a condition of the loan, that the borrower waive any right, 
penalty, remedy, forum or procedure provided for in any law applicable to the loan, as 
specified; and  
 

c) a licensee from refusing to do business with, or discriminating against a borrower or 
applicant on the basis that the person refuses to waive any right, penalty, remedy, forum, 
or procedure. 

 
22) Allows a licensee to use the services of one or more finders, as specified.  Those finders may 

perform one or more of the following services for a licensee at the finder’s physical location 
for business:   
 
a) distributing written materials;  

 
b) providing written factual information about the loan;  

 
c) notifying a prospective borrower of the information needed to complete an application;  

 
d) entering information from a prospective borrower into a database; 
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e) assembling credit applications and other materials;  
 

f) contacting the licensee to determine the status of loan application;  
 

g) communicating a response regarding underwriting; and  
 

h) obtaining the borrower’s signature on documents. 
 

23) Prohibits a finder from engaging in the following:  
 

a) providing counseling advice;  
 
b) providing unapproved loan-related marketing material; and  
 
c) interpreting or explaining marketing materials. 
 

24) Specifies the activities that qualify a person as a broker rather than a finder, and require a 
finder to comply with all laws applicable to the licensee that impose requirements on the 
licensee for information security safeguards. 
 

25) Requires a finder to provide a specified statutory disclosure upon receiving or processing an 
application for a Program loan and allow a finder to be compensated, as specified, by the 
licensee pursuant to a written agreement.  This bill would prohibit a licensee from directly or 
indirectly passing on any portion of the finder’s fee to a borrower. 
 

26) Mandates that a licensee to notify the Deputy Commissioner within 15 days of entering into a 
contract with a finder, as specified, pay an annual finder registration fee, and submit an 
annual report to the Deputy Commissioner regarding the finder, as specified.  This bill would 
require all arrangements between a licensee and a finder to be set forth in a written agreement 
between the parties. 
 

27) Allows the Deputy Commissioner to examine the operations of each licensee and finder to 
ensure compliance, and permit the Deputy Commissioner to take specified actions against a 
finder upon a determination that a finder has acted in violation. 
 

28) Require the Deputy Commissioner to examine each licensee at least once every 24 months 
and provide that the cost of the examination shall be paid to the Deputy Commissioner by the 
licensee examined. 
 

29) Requires, on or before January 1, 2016, and again, on or before January 1, 2017, the Deputy 
Commissioner to post a report on his or her Internet Web site summarizing utilization of the 
Program, as specified.  That report shall include, among other things, the results of a random 
survey of borrowers who have participated in the Program. 
 

30) Clarifies under the CFLL that an extension of a loan subject to the CFLL by a person that is 
unlicensed under the CFLL voids the loan contract, and would prohibit any person from 
collecting or receiving any principal, charges, or other recompense in connection with the 
loan.  
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31) Sunsets the program on January 1, 2018. 
 

EXISTING LAW  
 
1) Provides for the CFLL administered by the Department of Corporations (DOC), authorizes 

the licensure of finance lenders, who may make secured and unsecured consumer and 
commercial loans (Fin. Code Sec. 22000 et seq.).   
 

2) Specifies that CFLL licensees who make consumer loans under $2,500 are capped at interest 
rates which range from 12 percent to 30 percent per year, depending on the unpaid balance of 
the loan. (Fin. Code Secs. 22303, 22304.)  Administrative fees are capped at the lesser of 5 
percent of the principal amount of the loan or $50. (Fin. Code Sec. 22305.)   
 

3) Authorizes, until January 1, 2015, the Pilot Program for Affordable Credit-Building 
Opportunities (Pilot) that allow licensees accepted into the program to offer small-dollar 
consumer loans under the CFLL that are subject to the following: 
 
a) the loan has a minimum principal amount upon origination of $250 and is not more than 

$2,500, as specified; 
 

b) the interest rate does not exceed 30 percent for the unpaid principal balance of the loan up 
to and including $1,000, and, 26 percent for the unpaid balance of the loan in excess of 
$1,000; 
 

c) an administrative fee not in excess of either five percent of the principal amount, or $65, 
whichever is less; 
 

d) the loan term is: (1) 90 days for loans whose principal balance upon origination is less 
than $500; (2) 120 days for loans whose principal balance upon origination is at least 
$500, but less than $1,500; and (3) 180 days for loans whose principal balance upon 
origination is at least $1,500; 
 

e) the licensee must report each borrower’s payment performance to at least one of the 
national credit reporting agencies; and 
 

f) the licensee must underwrite each loan and shall not make a loan if it determines that the 
borrower’s total monthly debt service payments exceed 50 percent of the borrower’s 
gross monthly income. (Fin. Code Sec. 22348 et seq.) 
 

4) Imposes various other restrictions on participants in the above pilot program, including the 
use of finders, and requires the Commissioner of the DOC to submit a report summarizing 
utilization of the pilot program, including recommendations regarding whether the program 
should be continued after January 1, 2015.  (Fin. Code Sec. 22361.)  

 
FISCAL EFFECT:   Unknown 
 
COMMENTS:   
 
According to the author: 



SB 318 
Page  7 
 

 
In 2010, SB 1146 was enacted to authorize a pilot program intended to increase the 
availability of responsible small dollar loans made in California.  Since that legislation 
was enacted, five lenders have applied to participate in the SB 1146 pilot program.  
Three of the applicants were accepted, including Progreso (accepted to the pilot program 
in April 2011; made 118,000 loans under the pilot during 2012), LendUp (accepted to the 
pilot program in November 2012 and not yet lending under the pilot), and FairLoan 
Financial (accepted to the pilot program in November 2012; has made under 100 loans 
under the pilot program since acceptance).  Two of the applicants to the pilot program 
withdrew their applications.   
 
Despite the existence of the SB 1146 pilot, relatively few installment loans are made in 
California, with principal amounts under $2,500.  This represents a challenge to the 
significant population of people in California, who are unable to access affordable credit 
through banks and credit unions.  Californians who lack credit scores or have very thin 
credit files currently have very few options when they need to borrow money.  Credit 
cards are often unavailable to this population, or, if available, bear very high interest 
rates and fees.  Californians with subprime credit scores also have few options for 
affordable credit, and typically access payday lenders or high-interest rate installment 
lenders that lend in amounts above $2,500, when their incomes fail to match their 
spending needs.   

In 2010, the legislature passed and the Governor signed SB 1146 (Florez), Chapter 640, Statutes 
of 2010.  The bill created the Pilot Program for Affordable Credit-Building Opportunities to 
increase the availability of affordable short-term credit and to expand credit-building 
opportunities for individuals.  According to the June 18, 2010, Assembly Banking & Finance 
Committee analysis the author stated the following need for SB 1146 

According to the author of SB 1146: 
 

Enacted in the 1950’s, based on statutes from the 1920’s, the CFL is archaic and needs 
reform.  For example, its restrictions on interest rates, fees, and marketing partnerships for 
loans in the $250 to $2500 range effectively discourages lenders from making loans that 
would otherwise be a fair alternative to payday loans.  As a result, today there are very few 
fully amortizing, credit building loans in the $250-$2500 range and even fewer providers.  
Instead, the vast majority [of] CFL licensees only make loans above $2500, precisely 
because there is no cap on interest rates for loans over $2500.  Lenders simply do not believe 
they can make a profit below $2500, given current CFL law.  Thus, if a lender wants to make 
small loans, they become a pawn broker or payday lender (who as an industry makes over 10 
million loans to California residents each year).  The result: Californians have only one 
option—pay-day loans—and no opportunity to build or repair their credit.  . . .   
Californians need access to credit, now more than ever.  But, they also need alternatives that 
are safe and affordable, provide credit education and help borrowers build credit.  SB 1146 
will hopefully allow consumers who need small loans an alternative to a pay-day loan 
option, which likely causes more of a financial burden when payments cannot be made. 

 
SB 1146, sponsored by Progreso Financiero, established a pilot program under the CFLL to fill 
the gap in loan products that exist in the small dollar loan market.  The pilot program intends to 
fill this gap by allowing some flexibility on the fees and interest rates associated with the loans, 
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with an enhanced underwriting process to determine borrower's repayment ability, something 
often lacking for non-bank loans, specifically payday loans.  Additionally, the sponsor viewed 
the pilot program as a way to help the unbanked and underbanked build credit files in order to 
advance to more traditional lines of credit by the requirement that loan performance be reported 
to the credit reporting agencies.  No other lending law requires reporting of payment 
performance.  The goal of the pilot program is to make small dollar lending a profitable business 
so that more options will become available, while creating lending standards that will make it a 
responsible product under certain conditions.  A licensee under the pilot must also have a credit 
education program that the consumer will undergo prior to disbursement of loan proceeds.  
Furthermore, the debt-to-income ratio of a borrower cannot exceed 50%.  Lenders in the small 
dollar market may attempt to use third parties to find customers.  These third parties are known 
as finders.  These finders have a relationship with the lender as they might be business entities 
such as a grocery store or other retail establishment.  The idea behind using finders is that it is a 
cost effective way to reach customers with needed a physical storefront for the lender.  The pilot 
program contains very specific mandates and restrictions on finders, including caps on the 
payments that the lender may make to the finder.  At the committee's February 2012 hearing on 
this issue, testimony provided by a pilot participant demonstrated that acquisition of cost 
effective capital is a major obstacle in the small dollar lending environment. 
 
The driving force behind the pilot program is that many people do not have access to mainstream 
credit options due to minimal credit history.  This history is often due to a lack of a relationship 
with a financial institution through a checking or savings account.   Ironically, a consumer 
without a checking account would not be able to get a payday loan as payday loans are 
contingent upon the borrower having a checking account so in some cases an unbanked borrower 
may not have many options at all. 
 
Since the 2010 legislation was enacted, five lenders have applied to participate in the SB 1146 
pilot program.  Three of the applicants were accepted, including Progreso (accepted to the pilot 
program in April 2011; made 118,000 loans under the pilot during 2012), LendUp (accepted to 
the pilot program in November 2012 and not yet lending under the pilot), and FairLoan Financial 
(accepted to the pilot program in November 2012; has made under 100 loans under the pilot 
program since acceptance).  Two of the applicants to the pilot program withdrew their 
applications.   
 
Although aggregated annual data are not yet available for 2012, DOC has indicated that only two 
CFLL lenders made the vast majority of installment loans with principal amounts below $2,500 
during 2012 – Progreso Financiero and Adir Financial, each of which made approximately 
118,000 loans during 2012.  As noted above, Progreso is a pilot program participant that makes 
loans of various sizes under the pilot.  Its loans are currently available in 65 locations throughout 
California.  Adir Financial is not a pilot program participant.  It extends unsecured loans of up to 
$500 to finance purchases made by customers of the Curacao department store chain in Los 
Angeles.  Its loans are not available elsewhere in California.  
 
On February 11, 2013 the Assembly Banking Committee conducted an oversight hearing to 
examine the issue of small dollar loans under the CFLL.  That hearing was inspired by concerns 
that low income, low credit consumers face daunting and costly options when seeking short term 
credit.  During committee testimony, Commissioner of DOC offered the following comments 
relevant to the issue current under consideration: 
 



SB 318 
Page  9 
 

The Committee has inquired about the barriers of access to small dollar credit at lower 
costs.  The leading barriers to access to affordable small-dollar credit under the 
California Finance Lenders Law appear to be (1) the lenders' lack of access to affordable 
funds, resulting in unprofitable lending margins, and (2) the statutory restrictions on 
charges and rates.  Based on discussions with licensee, industry representatives, and 
anecdotal observations, it appears that barriers exist to increasing access to small-dollar 
credit while at the same time, keeping the cost of credit affordable for consumers.  
Lenders indicate that it is cost prohibitive to make small dollar loans under the 
California Finance Lenders Law because of the law's restriction on charges, the high 
costs of capital to lender to make these loans and the thin margins on generating loan 
volume… Many lenders indicate that it is not cost effective to make small-dollar loans 
even under the interest rates and charges allowed under the pilot program. 

 
In 2010, the Center for Financial Services Innovation (CFSI) reviewed the subject of small dollar 
loans, including obstacles to greater access and growing alternative approaches.  CFSI states that 
installment loans are costly to provide due to the operation of physical stores and underwriting 
expenses.  Furthermore, they stated, "One industry representative estimates that achieving 
breakeven with a $200 loan requires charging borrowers an APR of about 250%.  The breakeven 
APR drops to approximately 145% if the volume of $250 loans reaches 1,000.  Larger loans in 
the amount of $2,500 would require APRs closer to 44%, and the breakeven APR would drop to 
a projected 35% if 1,000 loans at that amount were made."   On the other side of this debate 
some argue that the high interest rates are not a reflection of actual risk, but an attempt to exploit 
customers for greater financial gain.   
 
Small dollar lending is typically not fulfilled by mainstream financial institutions like banks and 
credit unions.  Furthermore, the preceding economic downturn has tightened credit for all 
consumers, specifically low to moderate income families with median credit scores.  As 
traditional forms of credit, such as credit cards have become more restrictive, the use of 
alternative means has increased.  While the economic downturn has restricted credit in some 
cases, credit cards remain the primary source of credit use for consumers seeking to meet short 
term needs, though it is estimated that almost 1/3rd of consumers do not have a credit card.  
According to the Federal Reserve, nationwide credit card debt is $858 billion making it the third 
largest source of household indebtedness.  Given the large percentage of credit card use, small 
installment loans and payday loans are a drop in the credit ocean, yet that makes them no less 
important, especially for consumers that cannot access a credit card.  Whether it is a credit card, 
or non-traditional means of credit it is clear that the utilization of credit to make up for 
diminished income is not sustainable for a borrower. 
 
The unbanked or those without an account with a financial institution constitute approximately 
22 million, or 20% of Americans.  This population spends $10.9 billion on more than 324 
million alternative financial service transactions per year.  Bearing Point, a global management 
and technology consulting company, estimates that the unbanked population expands to 28 
million when you include those who do not have a credit score.  In addition, Bearing Point puts 
the underbanked population, defined as those with a bank account but a low FICO score that 
impedes access to incremental credit, at an additional 45 million people.  Although estimates find 
that at least 70% of the population has some type of bank account, these individuals continue to 
use non-bank services, ranging from the purchase of money orders, use of payday lenders, pawn 
shops or sending of remittances.  The Federal Reserve Board has noted that 50% of current 
unbanked households claim to have had an account in the past. 
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In California, 28% of adults do not have a checking or savings account, according to the U.S. 
Census.  In San Francisco, the Brookings Institution estimated that one in five San Francisco 
adults, and half of its African-Americans and Hispanics, do not have accounts.  Recent market 
research indicates that Fresno and Los Angeles have the second and third highest percentages of 
unbanked residents in the country. 
 
Nationwide, the unbanked are disproportionately represented among lower-income households, 
among households headed by African-Americans and Hispanics, among households headed by 
young adults, and among renters.  A Harvard Poll of Hurricane Katrina evacuees in the 
Superdome found that seven out of ten did not have a checking or savings account. 
 
Installment Lending vs. Payday Lending. 
 
It is difficult to discuss the CFLL without also briefly reviewing the DDTL.  The DDTL (Will 
also be referred to as payday loans) provides that deferred depository lender may accept a post 
dated check from a borrower, written at a maxium of $300, in exchange for providing the 
borrower with a loan of $255.   The DDTL allows the lender to charge a maxium of 15% of the 
face amount of the check.   The DDTL in combination with the CFLL provides that a consumer 
in need of a small dollar loan is limited to seeking a payday loan, unsecured installment product, 
or a car title loan.  Data thus far demostrates that consumers are utilizing payday loans far in 
excess of products offered under the CFLL. 
 
In order to put these options in perspective and in contrast the following is a chart of informaton 
from the DOC 2011 Annual Report: Operation of Deferred Deposit Originators: 
 
Based on the 2011 data of CFLL loans and payday loans the following are important highlights.: 

• CFL licensees conducted 381,131 unsecured installement loans and 38,148 auto title 
loans for a total of 419,279.  The total dollar amount of these loans was $968,768,000. 

• 258,273 CFL loans were made in amounts under $2,500. 

• A large percentage of CFL loans (89,989) occurred in the $2,500 to $4,999 range at 
APRs above 100%. 

• DDTL lenders conducted 12,427,810 transactions for a total dollar amount of 
$3,267,629,497. 

• The average dollar amount of DDTLs made was $263 at an average APR of 411% for an 
average loan term of 17 days. 

• Based on information provided by DOC, 90% of the CFLL lending volume under $2,500 
comes from two companies, Progreso Financiero and Adir Financial.  
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Costly Installment Lending: 
 
In addition to payday loans, financial institution overdraft programs, and lending under the pilot, 
consumers seek out car title loans and installment loans with no interest rate regulation above 
$2500.   
 
Personal loans made by CFL licensees typically go to consumers with low credit scores in need 
of credit that cannot be acquired via traditional means (Bank loans, credit card, family loans).  
The most costly options under the CFLL are car title lending and unsecured personal loans.  
These loans are most often made without robust underwriting to determine if the borrower can 
repay the loan, nor to what impact such a loan would have on the borrower's debt to income 
ratio. 
A car title loan is when a consumer borrows money against the title of their car for a specified 
period of time.  During the loan period, the consumer continues to use their vehicle as necessary.  
If the consumer defaults on the loan then current law allows the lender to repossess the car for 
the cost of the loan.  Car title lending in California is conducted under the CFLL, under which 
various forms of consumer lending are authorized.  The CFLL does not explicitly authorize car 
title lending, but CFL licensees may offer these types of loans.   Car title loans are subject to the 
provisions of the CFLL, which for loans above $2,500 no interest rate caps exist.   
 
Car title lending recently came under scrutiny due to media coverage, specifically, an LA Times 
article, "Title Loans' Interest Rates are Literally Out of Control,"  February 11, 2011, that 
highlighted the high interest rates on these loans and the consequences if a consumer does not 
pay off such a loan.  One customer put up his truck as collateral for a $2,500 loan with payments 
of $200 per month.  The customer expected to pay off $5000-$6000 by the time the loan was 
finished.  This particular customer was charged an APR of 108% as a return customer vs. 120% 
for new customers. 
 
Industry representatives argue that the borrowers who use their services have very low credit 
scores and are not likely to have access to other means of credit, if at all.  Additionally, they 
point out that while the loan may be securitized, the repossession and disposition of an 
automobile is a costly endeavor and such costs must be built into the cost of the loan. 

On the unsecured side of the CFLL lending market are unsecured personal installment loans.  
The most well-known entity offering these loans is a company called CashCall.  CashCall 
advertises frequently on television. CashCall offers unsecured loans over $2,500 that have no 
interest rate restrictions.  A quick perusal of their website reveals the terms and interest rates for 
typical loan transactions.  For example, on a loan of $2,525 the following would apply: 

• $75 fee 

• 139.22% 

• 47 payments 

• $294.46 monthly payment. 



SB 318 
Page  12 
 

Under the above scenario, if the borrower took the loan to term for the full 47 months they 
would have paid back $13,914.62 (interest-principal-origination fee) on a $2,525 loan.  This 
comes out to $11,389 in interest charges.   
 
Small dollar lending and financial institutions? 
 
In the discussion of small dollar lending often the number one question is why do financial 
institutions not provide greater lending opportunities in the small dollar markets?  One obvious 
answer is that underwriting standards at most mainstream financial institutions would prohibit 
lending to consumers with marginal credit.  Another answer is the lending in this market place is 
not cost effective without lending at interest rates that might bring about reputational risk to the 
image of the institution. 
 
In order to better grasp the role of banks in small dollar lending, and potentially encourage 
greater lending in this space, the FDIC in 2007 started a two year Small-Dollar Loan Pilot 
Program.  This program was designed to demonstrate that banks can offer affordable small dollar 
products that are profitable for the participating banks, while also providing an alternative to 
high-costs loans and costly overdraft protection programs.   The FDIC parameters for a loan 
under the program was an amount of $2,500 with a term of 90 days or more at an APR of 36% or 
less.  As the program came to a close, 34,400 small-dollar loans were made with a principal 
balance of $40.2 million nationwide.   Small-dollar lending was often used as a relationship 
building opportunity in order to building long term opportunities with the customer.  The Pilot 
began with 31 banks participating, one of which was located in California (BBVA Bancomer 
USA).  The Pilot ended with only 28 participants.   Delinquency rates for the loans ranged from 
9-11%, but loans with longer terms performed better.  It does not appear that the Pilot led to 
widespread adoption of small dollar lending programs at non-pilot banks. 
 
In 2005, Sheila Bair, prior to her role as Chairman of the FDIC, wrote a report (Low Cost 
Payday Loans: Opportunities & Obstacles) that researched the ability of financial institutions to 
offer affordable payday loan alternatives.   She found that banks and credit unions do have the 
ability to offer low-cost small-dollar loans, however the use of fee-based overdraft protection 
programs were a significant obstacle to offer alternative programs.  In additional research in this 
area, Michael Stegman, "Payday Lending", Journal of Economic Perspectives concluded that 
"bottom lines are better served by levying bounced check and overdraft fees on the payday loan 
customer base than they would be by undercutting payday lenders with lower cost, short-term 
unsecured loan products..." 
 
An additional factor is also that many borrowers in the small dollar lending environment have 
impaired credit that in most cases will not allow them to get a loan from a bank, even if the bank 
offers a small dollar loan.  Mainstream financial institutions have a perceived (or real) fear of 
regulatory backlash if underwriting standards are lowered to serve these populations. 
 
A recent article highlight the struggles of financial institutions to offer low costs products.  In a 
May 9, 2013 article, California Thrift's woes Show Challenges competing with Payday Lenders, 
American Banker, revealed that PacificCoast Bank in Oakland, California stopped offering its 
short-term loan program that was modeled on the FDIC pilot.  A spokesperson from the bank 
revealed that the model was economically sustainable, and thus not able to compete with payday 
lenders.  Finally, PacificCoast Bank revealed that they plan to work with LendUp, a San 



SB 318 
Page  13 
 

Francisco based lender, currently operating under the payday lending law and the pilot program, 
on a revised product. 
 
Differences between existing pilot and SB 318: 
 
Interest rates: 
 
Existing pilot:  On loans between $300 and $1000 the interest rate is 30%.  On loans between 
$1001 and $2,499 the interest rate is 26%. 
 
SB 318:  On loans between $300 and $1,000 the rate is the lessor of 36% or the Prime rate plus 
32.75% (currently equals 36%).  On loans of $1,000 to $2,499= the lessor of 36% or the prime 
rate plus 28.75% (currently equals 32%). 
 
Fees: 
 
Existing pilot: The lessor of 5% of principal amount or $65. 
 
SB 318: The lessor of 7% of principal amount or $90, or 6% percent of the principal amount, 
exclusive of the administrative fee, or eighty dollars ($80), whichever is less, on the second and 
subsequent loans made to the same borrower. 
 
Late fees  
 
Existing pilot: 7 day delinquency=$12; 14 day delinquency=$18 
 
SB 318: 7 day delinquency=$14; 14 day delinquency=$20 
 
Time limit on repeat fees:  
 
Existing pilot: Licensee shall not charge the same borrower more than one administrative fee in 
any six month period.    An administrative fee shall not be contracted for or received in a 
refinancing of a loan unless one year has elapsed since the receipt of the previous fee paid by the 
borrower. 
 
SB 318:  A licensee shall not charge the same borrower more than one administrative fee in any 
four month period.  An administrative fee shall not be received in a refinancing unless at least 
eight months have passed. 
 
In addition to the differences listed above, the proposed program in SB 318 is different from the 
existing pilot in several non-controversial ways, while also retaining key elements of the existing 
pilot such as mandatory underwriting standards. 
 
Arguments in support. 
 
Progreso Financiero writes in support, 
 

We are writing in support of SB 318 (Hill). SB 318 would make some targeted, essential 
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changes to a currently existing Pilot Program for Affordable Credit Building 
Opportunities under the California Finance Lenders Law (CFL) which was established 
by SB 1146 (Florez) in 2010 to address the very serious lack of access to capital for low 
income borrowers. SB 1146 was a visionary and innovative attempt to remove numerous 
barriers in California law to the making of socially responsible, small loans at fair terms 
and rates to the millions of Californians who are underbanked and financially 
vulnerable. 

 
At the time the Pilot was being considered, there were relatively few unsecured, small 
dollar, credit-building installment loans available to people of modest means with little 
or no credit history. This is largely due to the fact that mainstream lenders have 
struggled to serve these customers. Small dollar lending is high-cost and challenging; 
lenders incur many of the same expenses and risks with small dollar loans as they would 
with larger loans but with much less profit. Despite these very real challenges, there is an 
extraordinary and growing demand for such small loans. This imbalance between supply 
and demand drives individuals and families, particularly those from low income, minority 
communities, to rely on expensive, potentially dangerous financial options that can be 
harmful to their financial well-being. 

 
The Pilot Program took important, pioneering steps toward addressing some of the 
statutory barriers relating to making small loans. However, more needs to be done. SB 
318 takes the experience and lessons learned from the existing Pilot Program and 
proposes changes necessary to increase the supply of good, small dollar lenders and 
loans so that low income consumers have real, readily accessible alternatives that will 
help them achieve positive financial outcomes and build a more secure financial future. 

 
Progreso Financiero is an innovative, mission-driven, California-headquartered 
company that is dedicated to helping more than 23 million hard working and under-
banked Latinos in the U.S. access responsibly priced credit and establish positive credit 
histories. We lend to lower income Latinos who have little or no credit histories. We are 
able to do this by using our unique, proprietary, innovative credit scoring system that we 
combine with in-person, traditional customer relationship building. As part of the Pilot 
Program, we also offer credit education to our borrowers and help them fully understand 
what it means to take out a loan and be financially responsible. We have developed a 
robust, growing micro-lending platform available in nearly 70 locations in California. 

 
The result of our approach is that we have helped hundreds of thousands of Californians 
move up the economic ladder. We have an unsurpassed track record in this area of 
lending, and since our founding in 2005 we have originated nearly $600 million dollars 
in small dollar loans.  Approximately half of our customers come to us with no credit 
score. Our loans help them build a positive credit history and credit scores. Our efforts 
have been nationally recognized on several occasions. We were certified as a Community 
Development Financial Institution (CDFI) in 2009 by the U.S. Department of Treasury, a 
designation that is reserved for organizations who have demonstrated a commitment to 
increasing economic opportunity and promoting community development in underserved 
populations or distressed communities in the US.  We were the sponsor of the original 
legislation and worked hard for its passage. Much of the Pilot Program is modeled after 
our best practices… 
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Now, after several years of experience in the Pilot it is clear that more needs to be done 
to increase access to the program for both lenders and borrowers. We need to make the 
benefits of the Pilot more widespread, viable and useful to Californians. SB 318 does 
that. SB 318 addresses some of the economic barriers faced by current and potential 
lenders in this market while preserving the responsible lending practices of the program. 
We hope that this will attract more program participants and help cultivate a robust 
responsible small dollar lending industry in California. 

 
The best way to combat predatory and harmful lending is to encourage and allow more 
socially responsible lending like that enabled by the Pilot Program. SB 318 does this in a 
measured, thoughtful way. The more lending flourishes under the Pilot Program the 
better off are those who need better options for small loans. 

 
Arguments in opposition. 
 
Consumers Union writes in opposition: 
 

Although the lenders participating in the current pilot program claim that SB 318 will 
better enable them to achieve success and profitability, we still have relatively little data 
regarding the performance of the outstanding loans in the program. It is difficult to tell 
whether consumers are benefiting from the existing pilot, since it is only halfway 
complete. It is even less clear whether SB 318 would achieve a better outcome. 
Furthermore, we believe it is important that the business needs of individual lenders are 
balanced with consumers’ need to get a fair deal and improve their financial health.  

Given this context, we are concerned that the current provisions of SB 318 may impose 
too many new fees on consumers and result in riskier loans. Still, Consumers Union 
firmly believes that consumers deserve reasonable access to affordable credit. We 
appreciate the intent behind SB 318 – to create a fair and viable framework for 
installment loans under $2500.  

We have been in discussion with the author’s office to address our concerns in three key 
areas: (1) interest rates; (2) timing and amount of administrative fees; and (3) 
refinancing standards.  We have indicated to the author that the following changes would 
remove our opposition:  

Interest rates: allow the rates to float with prime, but place an upper cap of 36% on the 
first $1000 borrowed and an upper cap of 34% on additional principal above $1000.  

Administrative fees: permit administrative fees to be charged every four months, capped 
at the lesser of 7% of principal borrowed or $90, but reduce the amount charged to the 
same consumer on subsequent loans to the lesser of 5% or $65.  

Refinancing: permit administrative fees in connection with a refinancing after 8 months 
but set minimum standards for who is eligible for a refinance loan, so that borrowers 
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struggling to repay existing loans are not taking on unsustainable debt burdens. 
Calculate applicable fees based on the new additional amount borrowed only.  

Arguments of concern. 
 
Center for Responsible Lending, Law Foundation of Silicon Valley, and the California 
Reinvestment Coalition have provided letters expressing neither support or opposition, but 
concern with the provisions of SB 318.  The concerns generally expressed are that it is too early 
to create a new pilot when the existing pilot has yet to run its course and that the increase in fees 
and interest proposed to be charged to consumers in the bill are not appropriately justified.  
These groups also express concern with the increased interest rates and administrative fee and 
that the interest rate is tied to the Prime rate could rise.  Furthermore, concerns have been raised 
regarding the frequency at which administrative fees may be charged. 
 
Questions & Discussion. 
 
1) This bill would create a new small dollar pilot program prior the exhaustion of the current 

pilot program.  The reasons and justifications for these changes are mentioned elsewhere in 
this analysis.  However, as a fundamental matter of policy, the question must be asked as to 
whether it is appropriate to give up on the pilot project before the release of the required 
report on its impact and potential reforms?  Related to this issue, is whether it is appropriate 
to have two pilot programs operating at the same time.  The existing pilot is schedule to 
sunset on January 1, 2015, meaning that it would continue for one more year in conjunction 
with the pilot proposed under SB 318.  Staff recommends that that the existing pilot should 
be terminated with language that ensures that existing pilot lenders will transition 
automatically to the new program proposed under SB 318 should it be signed into law. 
 

2) Two years after its creation, the pilot project has only three licensees.  Those three licensees 
made a combined 118,100 loans in 2012 under the pilot, with 118,000 of those loans being 
made by Progreso. As noted earlier, during the same period over twelve million payday loans 
were made in California.  From a standpoint of both volume of loans and number of licensees 
the pilot has not garnered the participation or market saturation that was hoped for when the 
original legislation was passed in 2010.  A major selling point of the existing pilot was its 
potential to supplant the lure of payday lending by providing a sustainable alternative.  Thus 
far, the numbers do not reflect that the existing pilot has provided the alternative that policy 
makers hoped for.  On the other hand, not every borrower that can get a payday loan would 
qualify for a loan from a pilot lender.  The pilot requires robust underwriting standards that 
are not required for payday loans.  Staff discussion's with pilot lenders reveal that 40% or 
more of borrowers are rejected for pilot loans for not meeting the underwriting criteria.  
While these early indications may reveal that the existing pilot needs revisions for success, 
the issue on how to determine "success" is complicated.  Staff is reminded of this by the 2002 
statement of then Secretary of State Donald Rumsfeld when he said, "There are known 
knowns. These are things we know that we know. There are known unknowns. That is to say, 
there are things that we know we don't know. But there are also unknown unknowns. There 
are things we don't know we don't know."   
 
Loan volume and the number of licensees would indicate a lack of pilot success.  However, 
the lack of data is troubling in that the committee does not have a clear view of other issues 
that may be affecting the lack of success.  SB 318 does require a report to occur in two years 
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after implementation of its provisions that will shed some light on its success.  However, at 
this time the answers to the following questions regarding the existing pilot would be helpful 
in making further determinations: 
 
a) How many borrowers are repeat borrowers, and of those, what is the frequency? 

 
b) How many borrowers refinance?  Generally, what are the reasons for refinance? 

 
c) How many borrowers are rejected for a loan?  What are the reasons for rejection? 

 
d) How many borrowers have improved credit scores?  Do those borrowers move on to 

different credit options? 
 

e) How many borrowers had used payday loans, or had outstanding payday loans? 
 

3) Tiered interest rates.  SB 318 provides for two interest rates tied to the prime rate (currently 
3.25%).  For loans $1,000 and below the rate is 32.75%+Prime that currently equals 36%.  
For loans from $1,000 to $2,499 the rate is 28.75%+Prime that currently equals 32%.  
Amendments to this bill in Senate Judiciary capped the rates at 36%.  Should the Prime rate 
rise 4% in the next four years the rate for both tiers would be 36% eliminating the slight 
savings a borrower would receive for those amounts above $1,000.  How likely is an increase 
of this nature in the next four years?  The Federal Reserve has indicated that an increase in 
the federal funds rate is unlikely until mid-2015.  The federal funds rate has an impact on 
prime so it is likely that the Prime rate will remain stable for the next few years.  The most 
important factor to determine the appropriate response to this issue will be the performance 
of the program itself.  If, in a few years' time, program participants are successful under the 
current rate structure and that structure has moved relatively due to little fluctuation in the 
Prime rate then policy makers may want to consider locking in rates before making this 
program permanent.   
 

4) The existing pilot provides that six months must elapse before the same borrower can be 
charged an administrative fee.  SB 318 shortens this to 4 months.  The existing pilot provides 
that an administrative fee may not be received for a refinancing of a loan unless at least one 
year has elapsed since the previous fee paid by the borrower.  SB 318 shortens this to eight 
months.  If the decreased timeframes are justifiable, then it may be worth considering that a 
limit be placed on the number of times a loan can be refinanced.   Repeat refinancing has 
been a feature of very high cost lending in other states on installment loan products.  While 
this bill has worthy goals, the potential of increasing participants in this market could also 
increase the potential for abusive refinancing by new entrants. 
 

5) The existing pilot and the program provided for under SB 318 both contain an element of 
credit education in that a lender must provide access to a borrower to a credit education 
program.  While it was not an issue in the existing pilot, it may be appropriate to specify that 
any credit education programs must be offered free of charge. 
 

6) As noted earlier, under the current CFLL, loans above $2,500 have no rate restrictions 
leaving borrowers in need of amounts over $2,500 with expensive options.  The current pilot 
and the program provided for in SB 318 would allow lending between $300 to $2,500.  
Should this range be increased to $5,000 under the proposed program?  This increased range 
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of loan amounts would not change the existing CFLL but could allow program participants to 
demonstrate whether loans up these amounts are profitable for the lenders and responsible for 
the borrowers. 

 
Amendments. 
 
1) Eliminate the Pilot Program for Affordable Credit-Building Opportunities and ensure that 

existing licensees under that Pilot will automatically migrate to the proposed program in SB 
318 should it be signed into law. 
 

2) Clarify that the credit education program shall be at no-costs to the borrower. 
 

3) SB 318 requires licensees to apply to the Deputy Commissioner of DBO and provides the 
Deputy Commissioner with the authority to regulate these entities.  Delete reference to 
"Deputy" throughout so that the "Commissioner" of DBO is the primary regulator.  
 

4) The June 17th, 2013 amendments contained a drafting error.  The following change is 
recommended: 
 
a) Page 7, line 6, strike “a” and insert:  that 

 
5) A licensee would be allowed to provide certain disclosures about their loan via a "mobile 

phone application."  Given rapid changes in technologies (smart phones, tablets, tablet/phone 
hybrids) that program participants may want to use to reduce overhead costs, staff 
recommends the following amendment: 
 
a) Page 5, line 39: required by paragraph (3) in a mobile phone application, on which 
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