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Date of Hearing:   June 21, 2010 
 

ASSEMBLY COMMITTEE ON BANKING AND FINANCE 
Mike Eng, Chair 

 SB 1146 (Florez) – As Amended:  May 27, 2010 
 
SENATE VOTE:   36-0 
 
SUBJECT:   Finance Lenders  
 
SUMMARY:   Establishes the Pilot Program for Affordable Credit Building Opportunities that 
would allow licensees under the California Finance Lender Law (CFLL) to participate in the 
pilot program involving unsecured consumer loans less than $2,500 until January 1, 2015.  
Specifically, this bill:    
 
1) Provides that any California Finance Lender (CFL) that wishes to participate in the pilot 

program shall file an application with the commissioner of the Department of Corporations 
(DOC) and pay a fee calculated by the commissioner of DOC to cover the costs necessary to 
administer the pilot. 
 

2) Specifies that a licensee may not make a loan, nor use a finder without prior approval to 
participate in the program. 
 

3) Requires that any loan made pursuant to the pilot project must comply with the following: 
 
a) The loan has a minimum principal amount upon origination of $250 and is not more than 

$2,500, as specified; 
 

b) The interest rate of each loan would be capped at 30% for the unpaid balance of the loan 
up to and including $1,000 and 26% for the unpaid balance of the loan in excess of 
$1,000; 

 
c) Delinquency fees would be capped at the lesser of 10% of the amount delinquent 

payment due or at an amount not to exceed: (1) $15 for a delinquency of seven days or 
more; or (2) $20 for a delinquency of 14 days or more; 

 
d) Origination fees would be capped at the lesser of 5% of the principal amount of the loan 

or $65.  A licensee would be prohibited from charging the same borrower more than one 
origination fee in any six-month period; 

 
e) The loan term is:  (1) 90 days for loans whose principal balance upon origination is less 

than $500; (2) 120 days for loans whose principal balance upon origination is at least 
$500, but is less than $1,500; and (3) 180 days for loans whose principal balance upon 
origination is at least $1,500; 

 
f) The licensee must report each borrower’s payment performance to at least one of the 

three major credit bureaus; and 
 

g) The licensee must underwrite each loan and may not make a loan if it determines that the 
borrower’s total monthly debt service payments exceed 50% of the borrower’s gross 
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monthly income.  In underwriting the loan, the licensee must assess the borrower’s 
willingness and ability to repay and must validate a borrower’s outstanding debt 
obligations, as specified. 

 
4) Requires licensees to comply with requirements of any applicable law, including specific 

federal regulations. 
 

5) Allows a licensee to charge a delinquency fee that is the lesser of 10% of the amount of the 
delinquent payment due or one of the following amounts: 
 
a) For a period of default no less than 7 days, an amount not in excess of $15; or 

 
b) For a period of default no less than 14 days, an amount not in excess of $20. 

 
6) Provides that prior to disbursement of the loan funds, the licensee must either offer to the 

borrower a credit education program that has been reviewed and approved by the 
commissioner, or invite the borrower to such a program that has been reviewed and approved 
by the commissioner. 

 
7) Prohibits the offering, selling or requiring the borrower to contract for credit insurance. 

 
8) Allows the use of "finders" defined as a person who brings a licensee and a prospective 

borrower together for the purpose of negotiating a loan contract. 
 
9) This bill permits finders to perform certain specified services for a licensee, including, 

among other things:  
 

a) Distributing or publishing preprinted, pre-approved written materials relating to the 
licensee’s loans;  
 

b) Providing written factual information about loan terms, conditions, or qualification 
requirements to a prospective borrower;  
 

c) Entering the borrower’s information into a preprinted or electronic application;  
 

d) Assembling credit applications for submission to the finance lender; and  
 

e) Contacting the licensee to determine the status of the loan application.  
 
10) This bill prohibits a finder from doing any of the following:  
 

a) Providing counseling or advice to a borrower or prospective borrower; 
 

b) Providing loan-related marketing material that has not been previously approved by the 
licensee to the borrower; or, 

 
c) Interpreting or explaining the significance or effect of any of the marketing materials or 

loan documents the finder provides to the borrower.  
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11) Prohibits a fee being paid to a finder in connection with a loan application, until and unless 
the loan is consummated, prohibits a fee being paid to a finder based upon the principal 
amount of the loan, creates a fee compensation structure for finders based upon the number 
of loans issued per location per month, and prohibits the licensee from passing on to the 
borrower any finder fee, or portion thereof. 
 

12) Establishes a cap on what can be paid to finders based on number of loans referred. 
 
13) Requires the finder to provide a disclosure to the prospective borrower stating that a fee may 

be paid by the licensee to the finder and containing the contact information of DOC if the 
borrower wishes to make a complaint. 

 
14) Requires a licensee that uses the services of a finder to provide the commissioner with 

specified information regarding those finders. 
 
15) Requires that all arrangements between a licensee and a finder must be set forth in a written 

agreement between the parties which must contain a provision requiring the finder to comply 
with all applicable regulations and provides that the commissioner may examine the 
operations of each licensee and finder to ensure compliance with the bill.  If the 
commissioner determines that a finder has violated the provision of this bill, the 
commissioner may terminate the written agreement between the finder and the licensee, and 
if the commissioner deems that action in the public interest, to bar the use of that finder by all 
licensees participating in the pilot program. 

 
16) Requires the DOC to provide specified legislative committees with a report by January 1, 

2014 regarding the Pilot Program that would contain specified information.   
 
17) Requires the commissioner to conduct a sample survey of borrowers who have participated 

in the pilot program to better understand the borrower's experience. 
 
18) Increases the length of time licensees may be required to retain advertising copy to two years 

and would permit the commissioner to direct any licensee to submit advertising copy to the 
commissioner for review prior to its use.  

 
EXISTING LAW  
 
1) Under the CFLL [Financial Code 22000 et seq], caps interest rates that may be charged by 

CFLL licensees who make consumer loans under $2,500.  Those caps range from 12% to 
30% per year, depending on the unpaid balance of the loan.  (All further references are to the 
financial code). 

 
2) Caps administrative (origination) fees that may be charged for such loans at the lesser of 5% 

of the principal amount of the loan or $50.  
 

3) Caps the amount of delinquency fees that CFLL lenders who make consumer loans under 
$5,000 may impose.  Those fees are capped at a maximum of $10 on loans that are more than 
10 days delinquent and $15 on loans 15 days or more delinquent.  Existing law requires 
CFLL lenders to prominently display their schedule of charges to borrowers.  
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4) Provides for filing fees in small claims actions and specifies increased filing fee amounts 
based on the dollar amount of the demand and whether the party has filed more than 12 other 
small claims in the state within the previous 12 months. 

 
5) Provides that the DOC may require a CFLL licensee to retain advertising copy for a period of 

90 days from the date of its use.  Existing law prohibits advertising copy from being used 
after its use has been disapproved by the commissioner and the licensee is notified in writing.   

 
FISCAL EFFECT:   According to the Senate Appropriations Committee, costs to DOC will be 
absorbed via licensing fees. 
 
COMMENTS:    
 
Need for bill. 
 
According to the author: 
 

Enacted in the 1950’s, based on statutes from the 1920’s, the CFL is archaic and needs 
reform.  For example, its restrictions on interest rates, fees, and marketing partnerships for 
loans in the $250 to $2500 range effectively discourages lenders from making loans that 
would otherwise be a fair alternative to payday loans.  As a result, today there are very few 
fully amortizing, credit building loans in the $250-$2500 range and even fewer providers.  
Instead, the vast majority [of] CFL licensees only make loans above $2500, precisely 
because there is no cap on interest rates for loans over $2500.  Lenders simply do not believe 
they can make a profit below $2500, given current CFL law.  Thus, if a lender wants to make 
small loans, they become a pawn broker or payday lender (who as an industry makes over 10 
million loans to California residents each year).  The result: Californians have only one 
option—pay-day loans—and no opportunity to build or repair their credit.  . . .   
Californians need access to credit, now more than ever.  But, they also need alternatives that 
are safe and affordable, provide credit education and help borrowers build credit.  SB 1146 
will hopefully allow consumers who need small loans an alternative to a pay-day loan option, 
which likely causes more of a financial burden when payments cannot be made. 

 
Background. 
 
This bill sponsored by Progreso Financiero seeks to establish a pilot program under the CFLL to 
fill the gap in loan products that exist between payday loans of $255 and CFL loans of  $2,500 or 
more.   Between those two amounts their is little incentive on the part of potential lenders to 
offer loans due to stringent restrictions on fees, marketing and interest rates.   For example, in 
2008 98,665 CFL loans under $2,500 were originated, whereas almost 12 million payday loan 
transactions occurred.  This bill intends to fill this gap by allowing some flexibility on the fees 
and interest rates associated with the loans in this pilot project, with an enhanced underwriting 
process to determine borrower's repayment ability, something often lacking for non-bank loans, 
specifically payday loans.  Additionally, the sponsor views the pilot program as a way to help the 
unbanked and underbanked build credit files in order to advance to more traditional lines of 
credit by the requirement that loan performance be reported to the credit reporting agencies.  No 
other lending law requires reporting of payment performance.  The sweet spot of this bill is that 
it attempts to make small dollar lending a profitable business so that more options will become 
available, while creating lending standards that will make it a responsible product under certain 
conditions.  
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A point of contention between the sponsor and several consumer organizations is the 
authorization to use finders to generate loans.  In the context of this bill a finder, under certain 
circumstances, and under strict requirements would be allowed to refer potential borrowers to the 
licensee for loans.  The sponsor contends that the use of finders is necessary in order to keep the 
overhead costs of such a lending program small, so that the rates and terms of the loans can 
remain competitive.  Various consumer organizations have been concerned with these provisions 
due to the potential that a finder would steer a borrower to a loan under this pilot project that 
could be potentially expensive, or that marketing for these products could become so aggressive 
as to convince consumers not in the market for a loan to apply for one under this pilot.  As 
currently drafted, these consumer organizations are neutral.  So as to provide clarity to the reason 
for their neutrality the following are passages from a letter from the Center for Responsible 
Lending stating their reasons for being neutral: 
 
 Although we continue to have some reservations, we have removed opposition contingent 
 upon the specific compromises reached.  We are hopeful that the bill will lead to more 
 lenders offering affordable and responsible credit alternatives for borrowers currently 
 relying on even more expensive payday loans, while eliminating certain abusive or unfair 
 practices that could otherwise undermine the program.  We strongly urge, therefore, that 
 the bill be maintained in its current form, and that the compromises that led to the 
 removal of our opposition not be disturbed. 
 
 In its current form, SB 1146 proposes to amend the California Consumer Finance 
 Lenders’ Law with the stated intent of stimulating more lenders to make responsible 
 loans between $250 and $2,500.  This would be accomplished by creating a new pilot 
 program to allow DOC-approved CFL licensees to charge higher interest rates and fees 
 than allowed under existing law, and to allow contractual relationships with “finders” – 
 unlicensed retailers who would be paid on a commission basis to market these loans to 
 consumers.  Under the bill, the allowable annual percentage rates (APRs) on such loans 
 (including interest and origination fees, but not late fees) would range from just over 
 30% to just over 60%, with most rates falling between 35% and 40%. 
 
 In exchange for allowing higher rates, fees and new marketing channels, the bill would 
 require that loans originated under this pilot program meet certain standards, including 
 robust underwriting, minimum terms that vary with the size of the loans, reasonable and 
 proportional limits on the amount and frequency of late fees, and prohibitions on 
 expensive add-on fees like credit insurance, which provide virtually no tangible benefits 
 to borrowers.  Including these standards in the pilot program was and remains crucial to 
 the removal of CRL’s opposition. 
  
 Under current law and regulations, lenders offering loans between $250 and $2,500 are 
 at a competitive disadvantage because both smaller and larger loans are much more 
 profitable than those in the $250-$2,500 range, even if the loans in this range are 
 profitable.  SB 1146 does not fix this fundamental problem.  These small loan lenders 
 ($250 – $2,500 range) compete at the low end with 459% APR payday loans and at the 
 higher end with CFL loans that have NO interest rate limits, often resulting in car title 
 loans with interest rates of 72 to 120 percent for loans secured with a borrower’s car.   
 
 We applaud the author’s goal to provide wider availability of affordable and responsible 
 small loan products.  Such products are particularly important for those borrowers who 
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 are limited in their access to responsible credit due to the lack of a credit score or the 
 presence of credit blemishes.  Although the best way to jump start more loans in the 
 $250-$2,500 range would be to more strictly regulate payday loans and the loans above 
 $2,500, SB 1146 offers a pilot program aimed at increasing access to credit.  In its 
 current version, the pilot program includes carefully negotiated standards to minimize 
 the potential for abuse or harm. The pilot program will be evaluated for its success in 
 responsibly meeting these credit needs before it concludes.   
 
 CRL removed opposition to the bill contingent upon resolution of extensive negotiations.  
 In conjunction with the Chair and staff of the Senate Judiciary Committee, we agreed to 
 remove opposition to the bill based on the following compromise agreement: 
 

 We agreed to accept the sponsor’s proposal with respect to the use of unlicensed 
finders that would allow CFL lenders participating in the program to market their 
products to customers shopping in retail stores like Best Buy and Sears.  As detailed in 
our prior letters, this is the issue that has caused perhaps the most concern among 
opponents.  Specifically, we have been concerned that incentivizing retailers to sell 
these relatively high-cost loans to sell more product could lead to finders aggressively 
marketing the pilot’s loan products to potential borrowers, including many borrowers 
who may not be “shopping” for a loan at all. 

 
 In order to accept the use of unlicensed finders in this program, we negotiated that the 

following three amendments be made to minimize to the extent possible the likelihood of 
abuses with the loan product itself: 

 
o Robust underwriting.  In order to insure that pilot program loans are offered 

only to consumers who can afford to repay the loans, robust underwriting is 
necessary.  The analysis of whether the consumer can afford to repay must be 
based upon the consumer’s verified income, as well as all verified and reported 
debt obligations (other than loans from families and friends).  CRL must oppose 
the bill if it is amended to eliminate the robust and fulsome underwriting set 
forth in the current bill language. 

 
o Prohibition of credit insurance products.  Credit insurance is one of the most 

widely abused methods for increasing revenue for lenders, while providing 
little to no benefit to borrowers.  Credit insurance is more frequently sold with 
for larger loans, such as a mortgage or car loan, and would seem to be an 
extremely questionable need for a small dollar loan.  Such products are 
extremely profitable for lenders, but offer almost no benefit to consumers.  
For example, in 2006 (the most recent data that could be found on the CA 
Department of Insurance website), the average loss ratio for credit 
unemployment insurance in California was only 3.5%, with a three-year 
average over 2004-2006 of 3.9%.  Moreover, most policies have 
extensive gaps that significantly limit a borrower's ability to receive the 
benefits, including limitations on the ability to make claims and on the scope 
of claims.  By contrast, the National Association of Insurance Commissioners 
suggests a target 60% loss ratio.  

 
As such, credit insurance simply should not be sold in conjunction with a loan 
that is described as a model for responsible lending.  CRL must oppose the bill if 
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it is amended to allow credit insurance products to be offered or sold in 
connection with the loans provided under the pilot program. 

 
o Limitation on duplicative or excessive late fees.  Although some measure of 

late fees can be appropriate, such fees must not be duplicative or excessive.  
We have accepted the sponsor’s proposal that late fees can be charged twice 
per month.  However, in order to control the size of such fees, they must be 
reasonable and proportionate to the size of the late payment that was missed, 
similar to the requirements of the CARD Act.  The Senate-passed bill caps late 
fees at 10% of the total late payment.  CRL must oppose the bill if it is 
amended to allow duplicative or unreasonable late fees. 

 
 To conclude, we have worked hard to create compromises on this legislation to remove 
 CRL’s opposition to this bill.  While we would like to see this bill move forward to create 
 new small-dollar lending opportunities, it is critical that adequate consumer protections 
 are in place to make these transactions responsible loans.  Opening up some of the finely-
 tuned agreements would require us to revert to our OPPOSE position.  
 
Unbanked & Underbanked. 
 
A driving force behind this bill is that many people do not have access to mainstream credit 
options due to minimal credit history.  This history is often due to a lack of relationship with a 
banking institution through a checking or savings account.   Ironically, a consumer without a 
checking account would not be able to get a payday loan as payday loans are contingent upon the 
borrower having a checking account so in some cases an unbanked borrower could not have very 
many options at all. 
 
The unbanked, or those without a transaction account with a financial institution constitute 
approximately 22 million, or 20% of Americans.  This population spends $10.9  billion on more 
than 324 million alternative financial service transactions per year. Bearing Point, a global 
management and  technology consulting company, estimates that the unbanked population 
expands to 28 million when you include those who do not have a credit score.  In addition, 
Bearing Point, puts the underbanked population, defined as those with a bank account but  a low 
FICO score that impedes access to incremental credit, at an additional 45 million people.  
Although estimates find that  at least 70% of the population has some type of bank account, these 
individuals continue to use non-bank services, ranging from the purchase of money orders, use of 
payday lenders, pawn shops or sending of remittances.  The Federal Reserve Board has noted 
that 50% of current unbanked households claim to have had an account in the past. 
 
In California, 28% of adults do not have a checking or savings account, according to the U.S. 
Census.  In San Francisco, the Brookings Institution estimated that one in five San Francisco 
adults, and half of its African-Americans and Hispanics, do not have accounts.  Recent market 
research indicates that Fresno and Los Angeles have the second and third highest percentages of 
un-banked residents in the country. 
 
Nationwide, the unbanked are disproportionately represented among lower-income households, 
among households headed by African-Americans and Hispanics, among households headed by 
young adults, and among renters.  A Harvard Poll of Hurricane Katrina evacuees in the 
Superdome found that seven out of ten did not have a checking or savings account. 
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The unbanked poor pay more to conduct their financial lives.  Check cashing outlets can charge 
between 2-3% of the face value of a check. So, an individual who makes $30,000 a year can pay 
$800 a year in fees to cash their payroll checks and pay their bills.  The lack of access to 
mainstream banking costs both consumers and society, as well as, the financial community that 
misses out on this untapped market.   
 
Families without accounts don't have a safe place to keep their money. They may walk around 
with wads of cash in their pockets, or keep it at home in a coffee can. Robberies are more 
prevalent  around check cashing outlets. A burglary, or a fire, could cost them their life's savings 
in a matter of moments.  A bank account helps people take the first step onto the path of savings 
and mainstream financial products. Without  an account, it is much more difficult to get well-
priced car loans, credit cards, or mortgages-the exact financial tools needed to climb up the 
economic ladder. Stable societies are built on financially stable families who have access to 
high-quality, low-cost financial services. 
 
For a more comprehensive review of the unbanked, please read the committee's April 16, 2010 
analysis of AB 2581 (Bradford). 
 
Amendments. 
 
In reviewing the provisions of this bill, committee staff recommends some additional 
amendments, clarifications and fixes to provide greater clarity and workability.   
 
Amendments needed to provide clarity: 
 
1) On Page 5, lines 7-9 provides that licensees must comply with requirements of any 

applicable law, including requirements of Part 433 of Title 16 of the Code of Federal 
Regulations.  The reference to the federal regulations concern the Preservation of Consumers' 
Claims and Defenses when a loan transaction is contingent upon the purchase of good or 
service.  For example, a consumer acquires a loan to purchase a washer or dryer and that item 
is defective in some way.  Federal law provides in that case the consumer has claim against 
the creditor in the same way they do against the retailer.   Additionally, Part 433 requires 
disclosure to the consumer regarding their rights when the transaction is based upon purchase 
of goods.   This provision appears to be overly broad.  First, if a licensee under this program 
used a finder such as a retailer to refer a borrower for a loan to purchase a retail item (similar 
to applying for credit card at a retail store to acquire goods at that location) then it could be 
conceivable that the loan was originated for the purpose of acquiring goods or services with 
that retailer.  In that case, because the relationship is so direct, in that the finder (retailer in 
this example) has referred the potential borrower, not out of concern for the financial well 
being of the consumer, but for the purpose of purchasing some items.  The way this provision 
is written the lender under the pilot would be required to issue the disclosures regarding 
liability even if the transaction is originated completely separate from the use of a finder.  
This assumes that the lender is liable even in cases where the loan originated absent the use 
of a finder, or absent a retail relationship.  Staff recommends either one of two options to 
address this concern: 
 
a) "The licensee complies with the requirements of any applicable state or federal law."; or, 

 
b) "The licensee complies with the requirements of any applicable law, including the 

requirements of Part 433 of Title 16 of the Code of Federal Regulations, if a retailer 
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acting as a finder is used to refer the borrower to the licensee for a loan for the purpose of 
purchasing goods or services from that retailer." 
 

2) Page 7 contains the steps a licensee must take in order to underwrite the loan and verify the 
borrowers debts and income.  This language requires the following: 
 
a) The licensee must seek information and documentation regarding all of the borrowers 

current debt obligations whether or not they appear on the borrowers credit report; 
 

b) Verification of the borrowers credit information using a credit report and information 
from other available and reasonable reliable electronic debt verification services; and, 
 

c) Income verification from electronic means that provides reliable evidence of the 
borrower actual income or from IRS Form w-2, tax returns, payroll receipts, bank 
statements, or other third party documents that provide evidence of the borrower's actual 
income. 
 

These requirements create several potential problems.  First, the licensee is required to seek out     
all of the borrowers debt obligations whether they appear on a credit report or not.  This assumes 
that the licensee must subject to borrower to some type of financial interrogation.  Additionally, 
a licensee is required to seek evidence of the borrowers "actual" income.   After using paystubs 
and other means one must assume that they have a good idea of the borrowers income.  
Requiring an "actual" standard implies that in spite of all available evidence, the borrower may 
have more or less income than claimed and that the licensee should be aware of such facts.  
Everyday thousands of consumers apply for credit cards at retail locations in order to receive 
some discount or preferred terms for purchasing goods at that retailer all without the complex 
underwriting required here.  Lastly, the underwriting process in this bill requires that the licensee 
must verify the borrower's debt, not only using a credit report, but other reasonable electronic 
means.  If one option of reviewing credit is sufficient then why require both?  In all likelihood in 
the context of the borrowers who would seek loans under this pilot project, they most likely will 
not have a credit report that provides enough information to make a credit decision.  Progreso 
Financiero, the sponsor, uses a proprietary credit scoring model that examines 600 data points 
that they believe can out perform traditional FICO scores. 
 
In order to provide clarity to the underwriting provisions, committee staff recommends the 
following amendments: 
 
 (3) (A) The licensee shall underwrite each loan to determine a borrower’s ability and 
 willingness to repay the loan pursuant to the loan terms, and shall not make a loan if it 
 determines, through its underwriting, that the borrower’s total monthly debt service  
 payments, at the time of origination, including the loan for which the borrower is being 
 considered, and across all outstanding forms of credit known to the that can be  
 independently verified by the  licensee, except as indicated in clause (ii) of subparagraph 
 (B), exceed 50 percent of the borrower’s gross monthly income. 

 (B) (i) The licensee shall seek information and documentation pertaining to all of a 
 borrower’s current debt service outstanding debt obligations during the loan application 
 and underwriting process, including loans that are self reported by the borrower but not 
 available through independent verification. The licensee shall verify that information 
 using a credit report from at least one of the three major credit bureaus and also or 
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 through other available and reasonably reliable electronic debt verification services that 
 provide reliable evidence of a borrowers outstanding debt obligations. 

 (ii) In considering the borrower’s debt-to-income ratio, the licensee shall consider and 
 include all reported debt obligations, except for loans from friends or family members, 
 whether or not the debt obligation appears on the borrower’s credit report or through 
 other verification services.  The licensee shall not be required to consider, for purposes 
 of debt to income ratio evaluation, loans from friends or family. 

 (C) The licensee shall also verify the borrower’s income that the licensee relies on to 
 determine the borrower’s debt-to-income ratio using information from either of the 
 following: 

 (i) Electronic means or services that provide reliable evidence of the borrower’s actual 
 income. 

 (ii) Internal Revenue Service Form W-2, tax returns, payroll receipts, bank statements, or 
 other third-party documents that provide reasonably reliable evidence of the borrower’s 
 actual income. 
3) As mentioned previously in this analysis, the issue of finders has been controversial.  In 

response to the controversy the bill contains numerous detailed prohibitions and requirements 
for persons acting as finders.  Among these provisions are prohibitions on finders from 
providing advice on loan terms or engaging in other details of the loan transaction other than 
providing introduction between the borrower and lender.  Additionally, prohibits 
compensation to the finder based on the terms of the loan.  It also includes a schedule of fees 
that the lender may pay to the finder based on the volume of loans referred.  It seems overly 
prescriptive to have a list of prohibited acts and practices, yet at the same time proscribe a 
menu of what the licensee can pay a finder under what would be a negotiated contract.  This 
statutory menu outlining what the licensee can pay for referrals seems unnecessary given the 
multiple other consumer protections in the bill. Therefore, staff recommends striking that 
language as it occurs beginning on page 10 line 24 through page 11, line 21 inclusive. 
 

4) The pilot project authorized under this statute, sunsets on January 1, 2015 if not extended by 
future legislation.  This could create a unique situation where the authorization to perform the 
duties that this bill would allow would abruptly come to an end, including the potential use of 
powers by DOC to regulated licensees.  If this program were not to be extended, what would 
happen to the repayment of loans originated prior to the sunset date, but still outstanding 
when the statute expires?  Technically, a licensee would no longer be licensed under this 
program so would they be able to collect the outstanding debt after the program expires?  
This could potentially be resolved by drafting language that if the sunset of this program 
occurs, the licensee is still authorized to recover outstanding debts, and the DOC is still 
authorized to enforce consumer complaints or other actions until outstanding loans are 
cleared.  Committee staff will work with Legislative Counsel to address this concern. 

 
Committee staff is aware that the version of this bill currently under consideration, sans 
amendments, represents, what some have described as a delicate compromise between consumer 
groups and the sponsor.  The amendments proposed in this analysis could in some way alter the 
position of entities that are currently neutral or in support.  In light of these concerns, it is 
important to note that the committee amendments proposed in this analysis attempt to achieve 
balance by providing clarity, while ensuring that consumer protection is maintained.   The 
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sponsor of this measure also approached the committee to request additional amendments.  These 
amendments were evaluated, and while there is some small overlap with what the committee has 
suggested, the amendments offered by the sponsor were not deemed necessary to make this pilot 
program work.   However, the committee recommends further discussion on a point relating to 
late fees.   
 
Currently, the bill allows a late fee that is the lesser of 10% of the delinquent payment or $15 if 
the payment is 7 days late, or $20 if the payment is 14 days late.  In most cases, the lesser 
amount will be the 10% of the late payment amount.  A late fee is not only a measure to recoup 
the costs of outstanding capital on the part of a lender, but also serves as a deterrent to the 
borrower to being late on a payment.   On a $50 dollar per month payment, this late fee would be 
$5.  Does this serve as a sufficient deterrent?  Committee staff is not suggesting that the $15 or 
$20 late payment schedule is fair.  Based on a percentage this could amount to 50-60% of the 
payment amount.   This 10% late fee provision was added during amendments that took place on 
the Senate Floor and as far as staff is concerned, have not been discussed in a policy committee.  
Therefore, a more appropriate option may be a late payment schedule on a sliding scale that is 
based on the amount of the late payment, making the payment amount and the late fee actually 
relative to each other.  While staff does not have a tangible solution, it is recommended that all 
parties continue to discuss this point to find a workable solution.  Additionally, if a sliding scale 
late fee schedule can be worked out, the committee would also recommend that a disclosure of 
that schedule be provided to the borrower at loan origination. 
 
REGISTERED SUPPORT / OPPOSITION: 
 
Support  
 
Office of the Treasurer & Tax Collector (San Francisco) 
Silicon Valley Community Foundation – Support with Caution 
 
Opposition  
 
None on file 
 
Neutral 
 
Center for Responsible Lending 
Consumers Union 
 
Analysis Prepared by:    Mark Farouk / B. & F. / (916) 319-3081  


